your paddlesports destination

Pursuit 100

by Pelican International

Reviews

I have owned the Pelican Pursuit 100 for a few years now…

Submitted by: on

I have owned the Pelican Pursuit 100 for a few years now and wish I had not bought the thing. I am currently looking at other options. The kayak isn't bad I guess in how it performs but it doesn't feel stable enough for me. I guess it was good enough to start with to learn the basics even though I still consider myself a novice.

Kayak is a basic model for beginners and can handle rivers and…

Submitted by: on

Kayak is a basic model for beginners and can handle rivers and lakes and bays with light rapids. Tracks well, stability is about 50/50, I have owned 2 of these and overall a decent kayak for around $200. which is its main selling point.

One major flaw. The seat rests on the bottom of the hull by three small points of contact and if you go down rivers where you will have to navigate rocks these points of contact wear the hull down until it wears completely through. You will get 3 to 4 years of moderate use before this is an issue, but for 200 bucks what do you expect? Mine both wore holes in all three spots and it's not fixable.

Purchased this kayak used for $150 and it has been a great…

Submitted by: on

Purchased this kayak used for $150 and it has been a great addition to our recreational kayak collection. Tracks decently, has plenty of cockpit room as I can comfortably paddle this kayak with my 5 year old son riding with me. Lacks storage space and basic features.

This very basic 10-foot kayak is ~OK, but it would not really…

Submitted by: on

This very basic 10-foot kayak is ~OK, but it would not really be my choice. It is an option if you are looking for something economical so maybe the low cost could bump it up to a 7 rating, but there are still others in this size class that I would choose for similar or not much more cost. Or I would choose another model that is slightly used and is available for similar cost. Due to the rounded hull shape, it seemed a bit more tippy in the water than some others, does not offer much for features, and does not seem overly robust.

This is a great kayak! I have been enjoying it greatly…

Submitted by: on

This is a great kayak! I have been enjoying it greatly . It maneuvers nicely and balances nicely as well. It is a great beginners kayak. I would recommend it to a friend or family.

Do not like this kayak at all. Have another Pelican kayak…

Submitted by: on

Do not like this kayak at all. Have another Pelican kayak and it was fine, but this model definitely has a tracking issue. Everyone fights for the other one and the one with the short straw gets this Pursuit 100. I really think the seat location is the problem. It is too far forward and you are basically either sitting high or leaving forward and the back point is ineffective in keeping the kayak straight. You are constantly compensating on one side, then the other. The seat is so low and flimsy you can't lean back on it, and the seat is very far from the back edge of the opening to rest it on (although - if you do, you are practically laying down, but interestingly, the tracking issue goes away - which leads me to believe the seat location is too far forward.

I did buy a seat insert (cushion bottom and high/sturdy back). That helped the flimsy back situation, but made the seat location/bad tracking problem even worse.

Again, I bought this kayak to use on Lake Superior and St. Mary's river, which can be rough waters in minutes, so you want a kayak you can fight through some choppy weather, and this kayak can't go straight on a calm day. You end up using 3 or 4 times the energy for the same distance as a good tracking kayak (like our other, cheaper Escape kayak).

I see Pelican has a newer model out this year - it was on sale for a great price but I don't know if it is better that the Pursuit. Same flimsy seat, but it is back up against the back of the opening, that has a raised lip that goes as high as the back of the flimsy seat. Might work, and the new hull has channels or grooves in it, that they are advertising as added features for stability etc. Probably because they knew the Pursuit was flawed.

Still debating buying a 3rd kayak just because no one will use the pursuit, but I may try and cut the seat out and move it back to the point the seat can rest on the back of the opening like the newer model. At least then I would be sitting where you end up if you lean back until the seat hits some support at the back of the opening (where you are basically laying down now). Just have to ensure I can get it secured safe.

I just had to leave this review since I saw so many high ratings, and only a few low scores because of the tracking - I don't see how anyone can give this higher than a 2 or 3 (since everyone in our extended family, who has tried our other kayaks, say this one is too hard to control and keep straight).

When I was in college i wanted to get into kayaking but…

Submitted by: on

When I was in college i wanted to get into kayaking but didn't have a lot of cash flow. So I found my first yak and i have used and abused it for the last 3 years. I liked it so much i bought a second one for my girl friend, or a friend to use or borrow.

I've rode in a lot of different yaks and i will say that this one tracks poorly but over all the price for performance is pretty awesome. The only other complaint i have is aft storage cubby is small and should have been left open to utilize the storage potential and they also should have put a better seat in them. The thin foam seat can get uncomfortable after about 5 hours. But i have two yaks and two paddles for under 500 dollars and if you were to go and buy a high dollar yak like a wilderness system or an old town you might spend 1000 dollars just on one yak with similar features.

Would recommend these to anyone trying to find a cheap way to get on the water and enter the sport of kayaking.

This "yak" was my introduction to kayaking. I paid $220. At first…

Submitted by: on

This "yak" was my introduction to kayaking. I paid $220. At first I was a little unstable in it but settled in after 30 mins or so of paddling. I would certainly recommend this to anyone looking for an inexpensive boat. I paddled this yak for 2 summers on flat water and moderate rapid rivers. Didn't have any major complaints. Hard plastic molded seat wasn't as comfy as a padded seat but keep in mind features like that are what keep the price low. I often sat on a thick towel for more comfort. Very light weight and thin hulled aids in the instability, which in turn gives a new paddler good experience in keeping their stability. It didn't track as well as higher priced yaks. I found it to wander to the left alot when paddling(paddling technique)?? Maneuverability was great and the light weight of it(45lbs) made for easy lifting, transportation and portaging. I have since upgraded to a 12' Dagger Blackwater, which is 12 or so lbs. heavier. The Pelican pursuit 100 is now a great extra yak for friends or backup boat.

I have had a great experience with the pelican pursuit 100. I…

Submitted by: on

I have had a great experience with the pelican pursuit 100. I use it for very amateur recreation, mainly lakes and the odd river. The only problem I've had is that the foot rests broke off on Tue inside, but it was easily fixed. It is not too heavy, but sturdy and moves well on the water. A good buy.

This kayak was a present for my 20 year old daughter. We…

Submitted by: on

This kayak was a present for my 20 year old daughter. We live on a lake and have a place on a mountain river. calm water or movement matters not, this kayak tracks poorly and the short cuts are obvious, bad seat, hull is thin, not stable.

I bought this kayak used - it's about 10 years old and…

Submitted by: on

I bought this kayak used - it's about 10 years old and, aside from some minor scratches, it is in great condition. I have wanted a kayak for the lakes around my home town and this one is perfect. I can put it inside my vehicle (Dodge Journey) and it's easy to get in & out of the water with. It is fairly stable - not the most stable boat I've tried, but it's okay for what I've been using it for.

All in all, I think that the Pelican kayaks, if they are all this well made, are definitely worth giving a look.

I have had my Pelican kayak's (3) for about six years. I…

Submitted by: on

I have had my Pelican kayak's (3) for about six years. I live on Lake Huron and have spent most of my life on one boat or another. The material is Ram-X. It is 8 feet long and 26 lbs.

What I love about it:
I store all three straight up and down in the garage. (Easy to store and easy to get out.) I put the back seats down in my car and put the kayak in the trunk. Or can easily carry all three on my roof rack. Easy to throw in the back of our pick up truck.
I can lift it over my head to put it on the roof of my car (I am a woman 56 years old and only 5'2")
I lift it on end to drain the water out. I can carry it about a block on my shoulder but if I need to take it further I have wheels that come apart when I get there and fit in the nose of the kayak. Although most places I can get near the water because the kayak is easy to launch any where.
Have used it in waves with a friend who is an expert kayaker. I love waves.
I have met friends out in the lake in their sailboats and it easily pulls up over the side and stores on deck.
Snorkelling at a wreck in the St Clair river found from the kayak.
Easy to drag through brush or carry over logs.
Stable enough to go over a log just under the surface.

I have had my kayak out in the winter. The clear water and everything covered with ice is magic. Wild life in small creeks,rivers and lakes are amazing. I don't need much water!

I love the water and use the kayak to keep active. Simplicity is the secret to this kayak. Best day to day boat ever!

This was my first Kayak that I purchased. I thought the…

Submitted by: on

This was my first Kayak that I purchased. I thought the price was great and it did give a little dry storage and a wide hull. I do wish the seat was more comfortable and had storage behind the seat. This would help with carrying more items to the river. But overall a good purchase for the price.

My step son started using this kayak when he was 7 and…

Submitted by: on

My step son started using this kayak when he was 7 and he found it easy to maneuver. He is now 8 and can out kayak many people. I would strongly suggest this kayak for any new or younger beginners. lightweight and easy to handle. He loves it.

This was my first kayak and as much as I really liked…

Submitted by: on

This was my first kayak and as much as I really liked it a lot at first mainly because of it was my first and I had never tried any other before, it has a nice wide base for water stability, lots of leg room, self drainage holes, easy access etc but it has the most uncomfortable molded, plastic seat!!!! and no room for my dog. She would sit in the front on top and as much as it was OK and she never fell off, it made paddling somewhat difficult esp keeping it straight.

All in all a good kayak to start with in my opinion!!

I just purchased the pulse 100x at Meijer on clearance for…

Submitted by: on

I just purchased the pulse 100x at Meijer on clearance for $172.00. I have been going back and forth reading reviews and trying to make my mind up as I imagine you are right now. The clearance price made my decision for me.

Everything every other review in here says, both good and bad has some truth to it. However, Pelican bought Coleman and now uses RAM-X hulls on these boats. Trust me it takes a beating. My canoe has lasted for years.

Now more to my point. Thirty minutes ago I was sitting in my new kayak on a local creek here in Ohio. Fishing rod in hand, tackle box between my legs and grinning from ear to ear. More fun than I've had since I was ten. So, if you're looking for a cheap kayak, that will have you smiling like a kid again, just take the plunge and buy it. Also, pick up some extra cushion for the seat.

This is a great kayak for beginner paddlers. Great on flatwater and…

Submitted by: on

This is a great kayak for beginner paddlers. Great on flatwater and rough water. It can run small rapids without much difficulty. It has ample space for overnighters and if you can pack light enough it should have enough space for a 3 nighter.

Other reviews say that this craft is very tippy but I have found that it is not bad. I recommend this kayak to smaller paddlers looking for some adventure.

This is a good entry-level kayak for those who just want an…

Submitted by: on

This is a good entry-level kayak for those who just want an occasional paddle experience. It tracks reasonably well for it's size. It is stable, and the opening is large enough to get in/out easily. I wouldn't take it in rough rocky areas too much, but for general paddling and even fishing, it's fine and it's a great price if you don't want to invest a lot yet.

I've owned this kayak for a number of years. I mostly paddle…

Submitted by: on

I've owned this kayak for a number of years. I mostly paddle on bays along the Texas coast. It's cheap, maneuverable and relatively light weight. Unfortunately, it tracks poorly in open water. I have to spend a lot of energy keeping it on track rather than propelling it forward. It's harder to keep on course in any kind of breeze. It tracks fairly well in bayous where there is virtually no current and wind. It's a decent beginner's boat because it's beamy and easy to get in and out of but if you enjoy kayaking in a variety of conditions it won't be long before you start looking for a better boat. Installing a rudder is a no-go since most kits cost as much as the boat.

I have two Pursuit 100's, a Waterquest, and a Potomac, kayak for…

Submitted by: on

I have two Pursuit 100's, a Waterquest, and a Potomac, kayak for me and my three sons, for rivers and springs around the panhandle of Florida, they are the best deal for the price and all four are light weight, perfect for a day on the water.

I picked up this great little kayak to use when the kids…

Submitted by: on

I picked up this great little kayak to use when the kids come home . Now I use it more than my Woodduck, from just throwing it in the back of the Explorer or towing it with the rest this one fills the bill. Lite weight, stiff on the water, and it holds me and a full days supply of whatever I bring. I'll buy even more and make a fleet.

The Pelican Pursuit 100 is possible the worst kayak put out on…

Submitted by: on

The Pelican Pursuit 100 is possible the worst kayak put out on the market. I have not paddle a huge number of brand yaks, admittedly. But, this yak is awful. It will spit you out in a heartbeat, no stability. In moving water it will, if you stop correcting, turn around backwards and track backwards. They say you get what you pay for and in this case that is correct, the yak is cheap in all respects.

This little boat is excellent - bought one in MT for use…

Submitted by: on

This little boat is excellent - bought one in MT for use on a large lake & had a blast with it - great primary & secondary stability & took a licking with lots of use. My usual kayak is a 16' sea kayak, but this little one is easy for me to load, unload & deal with by myself, plus I can take it anywhere & don't worry so much about the finish. Great boat!

I got my Pursuit 100 in a trade for a fishing reel…

Submitted by: on

I got my Pursuit 100 in a trade for a fishing reel. It is my first yak. When I first used it, I thought it to be very tippy. It constantly rocked side to side and I was nervous. But I knew it was me and I had to settle in. After about 30 minutes or so, I relaxed enough to settle it down. It was then that I realized this little boat can rock side to side safely and I had no issues with taking it fishing.

I mounted on some Scotty rod holders and used a 10 pound downrigger cannon ball for an anchor with a 50ft rope. Loaded in my truck, I grabbed some drinks and headed for the water.

The draft is very shallow. I was paddling around in a low tide river with only 4 inches of water. I followed that little creek to the main river where I encountered whitecaps waves and the little boat did fine. After fishing a bit { and getting dragged across some oyster beds by a large redfish} I started the paddle home. Back into the main river, I had to cross against an incoming ocean tide. I never broke sweat wondering if I was going to get a salt bath.

In fact, I decided to put it to the test. I paddled up to a commercial crap trap and typically weigh about 30 pounds empty. I grabbed the buoy and started pulling the trap up and with the side of the boat facing the whitecaps, I managed to get the trap on the boat and not get wet. I moved the trap to the opposite side and slowly lowered it back down. This time, the whitecaps were hitting the bottom of the boat. The trap had about 40-50 crabs in it so it may have weighed about 45 pounds or so. The little boat took the side loads beautifully.

I decided to paddle the 1/2 mile to the south Atlantic from that river. It was very choppy and rough, but I never got wet other than from the crossing the trap over the boat and paddle drops. Into the ocean a couple hundred yards, I turned back and went in safely.

I also have been in rivers where alligators are a very common sight. If I were scared of the boat tipping, this is not the place to be. One gator, maybe 4ft swam along side of me for a long way. It was comical. The larger gators just laid on the river banks watching me pass.

The only problem I have with the boat is neither the boat's of Pelican's fault. That redfish that dragged me across some oyster beds did it. Those sharp oyster shells, really scratched the bottom side. If it had been my bare skin, lots and lots of stitches would be needed. But, despite the heavy scratching, the boat still performs flawlessly and no leaks.

I feel comfortable enough with it in every way except maybe should a large shark decide to taste it. That might not be so good.

The pelican pursuit 100 is an amazing kayak for a new kayaker…

Submitted by: on

The pelican pursuit 100 is an amazing kayak for a new kayaker they have info at combinations of various accessories that can add up to a kayak even better than the angler model the only problem is that the RAM-X hull is weaker at the top and scratches easily.

I bought two Pelican 100's about a year ago. I use…

Submitted by: on

I bought two Pelican 100's about a year ago. I use them on local creeks and have had them on some more aggressive rivers in Northern Wisconsin. I was happy as a clam and thought (and still think) they were a heck of a good value. The places I've taken them are usually quite shallow and almost always rocky.

I noticed after a short time that they both were getting unusual discoloration on two spots of the hull. After further investigation I realized that the color change was from two of the three seat supports pushing downward while I scraped away the outer layer of plastic. I weigh about 200lbs and on the first day of my second season of use, I had a hole through the hull. This is clearly a design flaw which could be remedied by adding an additional layer of plastic under the seat to prevent these outward dimples from even getting started. I strongly suggest anyone who has one of these and weighs very much to try this. This is also happening to another of the same boats that my brother purchased at the same time. He only weighs 170lbs.

These boats are fun and more capable in whitewater than one might think. Especially with the available spray skirt. Given the price, I would have rated it much higher, had I not had these problems. I will find out this afternoon if the two year hull warranty will be honored by the seller. The factory rep I spoke with put it upon them to satisfy me. To sum it up this is a good value, but watch out for the design flaw. Especially if the boat will be scraping much gravel and rock. Also I suggest buying and carrying a repair kit on any long trip. I don't know how one would weld without electricity though. The best boat for the money is the one you can afford. No boat = no fun.

I first saw this Pelican Pursuit 100 in a local discount store…

Submitted by: on

I first saw this Pelican Pursuit 100 in a local discount store in early spring and knew I was hooked. I acquired this craft on 7/3/11. Maiden voyage was on 7/4. (just couldn't wait). I put off purchasing it because of the price. Long story short, price dropped to below 180 over July 4th week-end. My daughters & their husbands showed up on 7/2 to deliver my EARLY 65th birthday gifts. Gift cards to more than cover the purchase price and a 230cm paddle plus tax (already bought the PFD on sale at Gander Mountain)! What great offspring!

I put in on a local river at a city park here in northeast Indiana. This was my first time in a Kayak but I had spent 3+ years aboard a submarine a few decades ago. I even swam at the spot International Date Line intersects the Equator. The first 5 minutes were a little shaky until I got the feel of the craft and the paddle. I headed upstream, having a turn-around landmark in mind. I reached the landmark but the yak just would not stop(grn). I continued on and, based on elapsed time, found a resting spot before turning around and returning to the starting point. I checked the distance later and found I had navigated 8.5 miles in about 3 hours.

I am 5' 10" and tip the scales at 145lbs. I had absolutely no problems with the yak. The foot rests are as solid now as they were when I got into the yak. Maybe I just don't push against them as much as others might. I had difficulty early keeping it straight. I chalk this up to lack of experience. I did much better and obtained acceptable results after about 30 minutes of tweaking my paddling technique. I am anxious to work out some alterations/additions to enhance the experience while keeping safety in mind.

I'm only off the water today (4 day work weeks are wonderful) because it is my wife's birthday. I've already charted my next trip on another local river, a 20 miler. Wishing you all calm waters and smooth sailing (paddling).

I'm a avid mountain biker that has wanted to try paddling for…

Submitted by: on

I'm a avid mountain biker that has wanted to try paddling for a while however my budget will only support one hobby at a time or so I thought...Til I saw this boat at my local sporting goods store. I was able to buy 2 Pursuit 100's with PFD's and paddles for the same price as a entry level mountain bike. My son and I took them out on the lake today and had an awesome time.

Like I said I'm a newbie but I suspect that is the level of paddlers that would be looking at a boat in this price range. Both boats tracked as well if not better than I expected, They felt unstable at first but in no time both my son and I felt perfectly at home in them. They seemed as fast as any of the kayaks we encountered on the lake which is pretty good since they spent probably double if not more than we did.

The only reason I was unable to give them a 10 was as others had said the screws in the foot peg did work loose, But for what I spent I will be more than happy to break out my philips and tighten them up. I'm 6' 225 lbs and my son isn't too much smaller and both boats sat up in the water and showed no signs of being in danger of sinking. Some people expressed concerns about the hull scraping; personally, I don't think that it did or will scrape up anymore than that on any other kayak but being white I believe its just more noticeable. The hull material seems as thick as any of the boats I looked at in the entry to middle price range.

I am looking forward to enjoying many years paddling and I suspect these boats will be around for a while. Though I must admit I am hooked enough that I can't wait to upgrade. And isn't that what any entry level outdoors product suppose to do? Get you so excited about the sport that you can't wait to move up to the next level.

I bought the Pursuit 100 on a Friday after work. I went…

Submitted by: on

I bought the Pursuit 100 on a Friday after work. I went in the local sporting good store, just going to price out a new kayak, and stumbled upon this gem. At first I was skeptical about how it would handle especially being 10ft, until I got it in the water.

The stability is a little loose, but takes about 5 minutes to get used to. Now I can jump in and out of no problem at all. Tracking is great considering the length. It does tend to track a little to your weaker arm but some small adjustments in paddling will cure that. It can maintain a decent travel pace but is not super fast. But not like trying to paddle a log. Perfect for slow rivers and lakes.

The only reason I'm giving it a nine is because of the back hatch collecting water as you paddle. I am currently in the process of waterproofing that... The bungees are great and the pre-drilled holes for accessories are another plus.

I normally fish out of the kayak in our local river. Plenty of room in the hatch to throw a few drinks and some snacks, cell phone and wallet. I throw my small tackle box between my legs up front and strap the ultralight rod to the front bungees until I reach my destination.

I have a few scratches on the bottom of it from putting it in the water and not seeing some submerged concrete but other than that I have had no issues at all.

I love this thing, perfect for the waterways around where I live. Don't expect a 800 dollar kayak, but for the money, it's a 10 for sure!

I really enjoy this little boat. For the money I think…

Submitted by: on

I really enjoy this little boat. For the money I think it is great. Only a couple things would make me happier... the rear storage area is kinda bad because it is molded plastic yet it wasn't edged or lipped well to actually use. Change the lips, and edges and perfecto without changing price. Secondly I had the same problem as others with the foot pegs screws coming out...while I was out in the middle of nowhere! Not cool. Very poorly done. Again though really a great kayak. A little frustration but worth it.

Bought this Pursuit 100 at Dicks for $199.00, and couldn't be happier…

Submitted by: on

Bought this Pursuit 100 at Dicks for $199.00, and couldn't be happier. I mostly fish, and paddle for adventure in lakes, and up to Class III rivers.

This boat is nearly indestructible, stable, yet agile, and very fast for it's size. You need to add paddle and rod holders to it, and it'll do anything except World Class Whitewater. I added a set of retractable pontoons (EBay-$127.00), and now I can even stand up to cast and bowfish from it.

For the money, you can't beat this for an all-around Kayak.

Recently purchased the 100. Took it out on Lincoln Lake near…

Submitted by: on

Recently purchased the 100. Took it out on Lincoln Lake near Troy, MO and turned it over. Water was a bit chilly and I lost a fishing pole but still had fun. It does have some tracking issues and wind makes those issues even more challenging but for the price and the fun, it's gonna be hard to beat it. Wound up making a small 3'x2' platform with 4" PVC pipes for pontoons so that I could take my dog with me... That platform seems to help the stability issue.

I have to agree with the last entry. For the price and…

Submitted by: on

I have to agree with the last entry.
For the price and a little creativity you can have one hell of a cheap thrill for a good number of years. I took my 100 on a local lake in BC and actually broke through some 3/8 inch ice for about a quarter kilometer with this little kayak. I keep hearing people complain about the stability but I find the primary to be very stable and for a v-hull, rocking is to be expected. I like the ease of handling and easy storage issue with this kayak. For that, its already worth the money.

Yes an experienced kayaker giving this boat a 10. I'll explain…

Submitted by: on

Yes an experienced kayaker giving this boat a 10. I'll explain just exactly why below.
I've been kayaking for what seems like forever. Everything ranging from class 3 rivers to flat smooth lakes. I cruise, I fish, I surf that hole at the bottom of the class 3 slide. I paddle every chance I get.

With that said, I'm always looking for a bargain on a boat that I can find a good use for. Got a couple of Pursuit 100s, mainly for running class 2 and under rivers with some hammock camping gear stuffed in there.

Since I am already familiar with whitewater boats, the issues others have with this boat, I simply do not have. I have been VERY surprised at how well these little boats fill that void between playful low volume whitewater kayak and under responsive larger rec boats.

My Wilderness Systems Pungo 120 was the first boat I had for weekend river running with camping in the middle. Excellent for larger wide rivers and easy to maneuver rough spots, but could be a chore to steer around the rock garden and into the slot then back around the strainer at the bottom. But I could do it, but I knew there had to be something better without having to cramp everything including myself into a $900 creek boat. I already have a creek boat, river runner and play boat. None of them suitable for stuffing a weekends worth of gear and myself in without risking being stuffed too tight or overloading my boat. I also have longer flat water boats that will easily hold a weekends worth of gear, that glide well and track straight as an arrow, but on tight spots in a river become a chore to paddle tighter technical sections.

I could get a whitewater canoe. But those are typically $1000 at a minimum. They run $600+ used. Plus big money for custom outfitting, float bags, and learning a new way to paddle, as well as testy knees threw that out of the water. No open boat for me.

Going through Dick's Sporting goods during a late winter sale I saw them on sale for $199 each. Checked out the quality of the plastic. Well not quite the quality of my Wilderness systems or Pyranha boats, but certainly better than I would have expected for the money.

Hull design, this is where I got happy. Compare the hull design with a modern whitewater canoe (say the Evergreen Solito). VERY similar in design to a whitewater canoe. Meaning better tracking and stability than a whitewater kayak, but much better maneuverability than normal in a rec boat. It was the in between I had been searching for!

Got it home, first things first. I need to make the back hatch waterproof, and open up into the body of the boat for more storage area. A utility knife around the inside area of the hatch opened it right up with little issue. Glued some auto door trim around it so the lid would seal good on it. Took some paper and made a template of the space behind the seat, and cut a 1" piece of foam rubber into a bulkhead and glued it behind the seat and sealed it with silicone. Now for less than $20 I had decently dry large area storage in the back. Plenty for a weekends worth of gear. On to the cockpit. I sealed any screw holes with silicone, took a beach ball mostly inflated, put lines of silicone on it, partially inflated it and wedged it into the front for flotation, not that the bulkhead in the back wouldn't be plenty, but it wouldn't be perfectly waterproof if submerged. Glued on some knee pads under the front deck to help me maneuver the boat.

On the maiden voyage I took her out on an overnighter on a class 1 river with a couple of really technical moves needed or else you get wet, but no real danger involved. Initial jump into the boat told me that this little boat indeed was going to please me. It was the perfect in between from my whitewater boats to my flat water boats. It was faster and tracked better than my whitewater boats, but was loosed enough to turn hard and fast when needed. What a pleasure to find out this little boat was indeed exactly what I was looking for.

I had one issue left, it wouldn't hold a skirt worth a crap. The skirt material was just too bulky to hold under the lip well. So I put a 1" wide fairly thick line of silicone around the lip of the cockpit to add grip. I only put on a nylon skirt if I'm hitting rougher water, and it now holds well enough to get me through a wave train or slide without letting too much water in. The hand held bilge pump handles the rest in short order.

This boat was just what the doctor ordered for it's needed purpose, and it has held up perfectly for the last 3 years with likely another year or two left in it. But they are cheap enough getting a new one isn't going to break my heart.

This kayak is a great little kayak. Tracks wonderfully it is also…

Submitted by: on

This kayak is a great little kayak. Tracks wonderfully it is also very stable. its is pretty speedy for such a short kayak. only dislike was the uncomfortable seat

I am going to give you the most honest and direct review…

Submitted by: on

I am going to give you the most honest and direct review on this kayak. First I have kayaking for 8yrs mostly rec kayaks and I wanted to get another for a fairly cheap price. I bought it for 220.00 a week ago and used it twice already and there were thing I liked and disliked about it.

Likes -
the v hull cuts the water better than flat bottom kayaks, so you can go faster, also the storage compartment in the back is not totally water proof but is good for ice and waters or snacks, I also liked the bungies they are good for holding stuff, like the foot pegs that can be adjusted while your in the kayak, the kayak also feels lighter than my other 10ft kayaks.

Now for the dislikes -
first off the screws that hold the footpegs in place came out when I was kayaking, also I noticed several more screws were loose. replace these cheap screws with lock washers and bolts asap as I did, now they will never come loose. Also the seat,the padded backrest sometimes gets stuck under the lip of the kayak which is due to the seat which compresses a little bit when you sit in it. I fixed it by putting foam padding under the seat, problem fixed. the kayak can be a little tipsy but that is what to expect of a v hull, you will get used to it. Kayak also tracks where you paddle it no problem here.

All considered I give it an 8, replace the peg screws with bolts and foam padding under the seat and you have a pretty cool kayak. It does suck though that you have to do these things on this kayak due to poor workmanship.

I bought 2 pelican 100 in June 2010; had both in rivers…

Submitted by: on

I bought 2 pelican 100 in June 2010; had both in rivers creeks and lakes. Stable; great tracking. I weigh 215 and these kayaks are tough as hell. I'm fixing to go next week to the Blue River; I hope they will perform great... oh yea i never been in a kayak before I got these... I would recommend these for anyone

We bought a Pelican Pursuit 100 to take to Pymatuning Lake.…

Submitted by: on

We bought a Pelican Pursuit 100 to take to Pymatuning Lake. This is our first kayak. It was very stable. We ended up buying another one when we got home to take to the lake the next time we go up.

I have 2 other kayaks before buying this one already set up…

Submitted by: on

I have 2 other kayaks before buying this one already set up for fishing 359.00 new but came with 2 hatches - one in the stern and another mid way between the legs 3 rod holders. I have done many years white water and the small rivers....I really love this little thing and doing a few mods. to do a little more. Guide a party of 12 over the 4th of July and 4 days on this thing I would buy another!

i got this kayak for my birthday and i wanted a kayak…

Submitted by: on

i got this kayak for my birthday and i wanted a kayak and this one was in my price range ($200). its very stable tracks well does great in choppy water i am very pleased there is spots pre-drilled for accessories

I bought this boat from Academy Sports in Feb of 2010. It…

Submitted by: on

I bought this boat from Academy Sports in Feb of 2010. It was a leftover Kayak that was in the back. The salesman didn't even know it was there lol. It is identical (same molding)to the Pursuit 100 made by pelican, only it is solid OD Green.

I am very pleased with this Kayak. I am new to the sport and took it to Toledo Bend lake this past weekend (long 5 day weekend). I used the kayak for both fishing and recreational paddling. I paddled about a mile the first day just to get a feel for it. At first it felt a little unstable but once I got used to it the secondary stability was great. The next couple of days I probably logged about 10 miles. Does not track all that strait because it is only 10 ft but if you paddle correctly it will go where ever you want and you can turn it on a dime. The last few days I got my wife, who is pretty small, to give it a go. She was impressed and now wants one of her own.

Another thing about the secondary stability. I have twin 6 year old girls who weigh about 40 lbs. a piece. I let them sit in the kayak with me (one at a time in between my legs) and took them each for long rides. Through all this the kayak never sank and it has worked out for me and my family.

This is an excellent kayak for the price. I paid $200…

Submitted by: on

This is an excellent kayak for the price. I paid $200 for it brand new at Academy Sports. It is very stable & turns on a dime like a short (10') kayak would be expected to. It tracks fine; like all short kayaks, it pulls to one side then the other, but this is not a problem. If you're looking for a $900 kayak for $200, you'll be disappointed; otherwise, this is a great value. Easy for one person to handle, it shows every sign of durability.

Bought two of these early in July... one for my wife and…

Submitted by: on

Bought two of these early in July... one for my wife and one for me. We are really only interested in lakes and slow moving rivers, and these kayaks have worked out very well. Excellent value for the price. Quite comfortable, even for a big fella like me (225 lbs). We've canoed for decades, and it is now refreshing to be able to use a much lighter and more maneuverable craft. Only problem I've had is that the grand kids (as young as 7) want to spend the whole day in them. May have to buy a couple more.

These kayaks handle a wave quite well, and track moderately well(as can be expected for a short vessel). Very stable. I very much doubt that durability will be a problem... the hull is fairly thick, is made by Pelican (who purchased Coleman) and I've pounded the hell out of Coleman canoes for decades without a breach in a hull. The gouges and scratches may look significant but really don't amount to much...and should really be enjoyed as mementos of many happy days on the water! I have no use for an expensive boat that would have to be treated like a piece of fine furniture.

I didn't buy the Pelican paddles but upgraded to some much lighter high quality paddles....which makes all the difference.

This is my first Kayak. I bought it about a month…

Submitted by: on

This is my first Kayak. I bought it about a month ago and have had it out on Lake Michigan. I'm used to canoeing. I thought it tracked okay. Stability is much less then a canoe, but quickly got accustomed to it. Maneuvered just fine for me. Price is excellent. No real features on it. Not very comfortable, but a great beginners kayak. I would like to get more use out of it, but I'm definitely looking forward to an upgrade. When I can talk my wife into it. No regrets for buying it. It is everything I was looking for in a beginner kayak.

I bought this kayak at Sports Authority in Atlanta and take it…

Submitted by: on

I bought this kayak at Sports Authority in Atlanta and take it out on the Chattahoochee river to fish for trout, bass, perch and bream. Have accessorized with pole holder, anchor, tie-downs, bungee cords, extra seat padding, paddle holders, and several others.

Have been on many all-day treks fishing from this kayak. Very comfortable. Great to get up into the rocky shoals and shallow areas. Easy when boats pass by or on windy rough waves. Plenty of room for storage behind the seat. Put in a gasket around the top back compartment, which is accessible. Have waterproof box to store valuables (cellphone, etc) there. Not the best tracking kayak, but this is remedied with attentive paddling.

Neat to lounge back in it with a beer in one hand and a fishing pole in the other.

Purchased 2 of these kayaks in June 2008 for $200 each. I…

Submitted by: on

Purchased 2 of these kayaks in June 2008 for $200 each. I use them mainly of small to medium sized rivers and some lakes.

I would recommend these to beginners only wanting to see if they will like the sport or not. If you do, like myself, and use them at least once per week, you will be wanting to upgrade within a year.

The material doesn't take well to rocks. I have many deep scrapes and am anxious to see if I will ever rip a whole in this kayak. That doesn't mean these are bad kayaks, especially for the money.

Tracking isn't the best, however I wouldn't consider them tipsy. All in all, it is a good stater yak but I will be upgrading soon.

I bought my Esprit (Pursuit) 100 last summer after getting the hook…

Submitted by: on

I bought my Esprit (Pursuit) 100 last summer after getting the hook for kayaking by borrowing my daughter's Old Towne Dirigio. Sure the Esprit is not the boat the Old Town is, but at 1/3 the price, it is more than 1/2 the yak.

I am primarily interested in fishing and have outfitted my Esprit with two rod holders and a fish finder. I have fished primarily on reservoirs and slow rivers, but have been out in some significant winds and chop and have always felt plenty confident.

For the price, this kayak has had a great return on investment, I have caught hundreds of fish, and spent hundreds of hours on the water. I am 6' and weigh 200 lbs, and I am more comfortable in my kayak than in my sofa, but I guess that has a lot to do with where it gets me to.

The only down side is the effect it seems to have on my marriage. I haven't been able to convince my wife to try kayaking yet. Meanwhile the kayak calls to me every day, begging to go out on another lake.

If you find this kayak for less than $250.00, and are looking for an intro to kayaking, buy it.

Great little Kayak I got mine on Graigslist for $100. I have…

Submitted by: on

Great little Kayak I got mine on Graigslist for $100. I have taken it out several time on bayous and lakes and it's perfect for the beginner. I am now looking to buy one for my Girlfriend so we can both have one.

I've had a lot of fun in this kayak, tracks quite well…

Submitted by: on

I've had a lot of fun in this kayak, tracks quite well for its size. If you are looking for stability and dryness look somewhere else though. My only real beef with the kayak is I can't find a decent skirt for the large cockpit opening.

I bought this kayak this summer second hand for 150. At first…

Submitted by: on

I bought this kayak this summer second hand for 150. At first, I couldn't believe the price on this. I got it home, went for a paddle and realized how GOOD it handled in rough water. Took it to a beach where there are very big swells. showed up a surfer, then realized how heavy it was full of water. I have used it a few times. I'm not quite a beginner; started out in something with a rudder then used this and found out that it is much MUCH better than one with a rudder.

If you want a very stable kayak (even hard to tip when trying!) this is one you want. I recommend for anyone. 10+++

I bought my Pursuit 100 back in 2007 and still use it…

Submitted by: on

I bought my Pursuit 100 back in 2007 and still use it. For its price, you can't ask for a better kayak. It's stable, easy to paddle, and can handle choppy water easy. I've taken it out on the Detroit River and a couple of lakes in Michigan. I plan on keeping it for awhile.

Bought it this morning and took my daughter out... she used my…

Submitted by: on

Bought it this morning and took my daughter out... she used my 17 ft Chesapeake Light Craft, I tried out the new toy... I am happy with it, not impressed, but happy... Secondary (ability to lean) is a little disappointing, we won't take it out in COLD water... but we paddled 4 1/2-ish miles on the James River (S. Virginia) w/ an outgoing tide, fought it on the way up stream, loved it on the way back...

This is a great beginners ride, my daughter (12) can polish stability dexterity (she rolled the 17 CL!, I stayed dry:) ). So she'll use it in the late spring when H2O warms up, but I plan on playing with it again (weather permitting) on Sunday... why get my boat dirty?!? I gave the boat a 7, should be a 6 1/2... but I paid $200.00 for it, sooo....

I bought a Pelican Pursuit 100 about a month ago for a…

Submitted by: on

I bought a Pelican Pursuit 100 about a month ago for a little under $250. I was a little skeptical about this kayak because it is a sit inside and I learned to kayak in a sit on top. I had also read some of the reviews about this kayak and got disappointed to the point that I almost took it back to the store.

Last weekend I took it to the lake where I normally kayak every week and I was so surprised with this kayak. It was fast, tracked pretty good and a little unstable at first but its just a matter of getting used to it. I had no problem with the backrest either considering that I sat on this kayak for 3 hours. I'm very satisfied with this kayak so I might stick with it for sometime and probably upgrade. So if you are looking for a nice cheap kayak to get on the water and have some fun then this is the one you need.

I just bought 2 Pursuit 100's for me and my son. I…

Submitted by: on

I just bought 2 Pursuit 100's for me and my son. I found that after about 10 minutes of getting used to them they tracked well, and were easy to handle. using the foot braces helps turning.

I bought my Kayak on sale at Gander Mt. for $199.00. It…

Submitted by: on

I bought my Kayak on sale at Gander Mt. for $199.00. It is a great beginner and so far is durable. It is a bit unstable but seems to be fine on slow rivers. I took it down a rain swollen creek last winter and it was a little difficult to handle but did the job.

I am definitely a novice, but my wife and I went on…

Submitted by: on

I am definitely a novice, but my wife and I went on a 5 hour kayak trek a month ago. We had an Ocean Kayak and a Pelican Pursuit 100. This thing does NOT track well! This was true for me at 240lbs and my much lighter wife. We ended up tying the Pursuit bow to the stern of the Caper to keep it on track. When I was in it, I also felt it wasn't that stable. Maybe it will be for someone lighter, but I came close to filling it with water a couple times. Granted I was paddling hard at the time. I'm looking for a Caper as that was a fine ride.

This kayak was nice looking and comfortable but tippy and wouldn't track…

Submitted by: on

This kayak was nice looking and comfortable but tippy and wouldn't track or turn at all. I thought it was because of my size, but had two other people down to 130 lb try it and they hated it too. I wrote pelican and they seemed uninterested and told me to take it back to the dealer which I did. I traded it for a Water Quest.

Got this at Gander Mountain for 199.99...took it out on a river…

Submitted by: on

Got this at Gander Mountain for 199.99...took it out on a river not far from where I live. The river was up a bit from the rain, there are some sections that are class I and some could almost pass as a class II rapid, the pursuit handled it without a problem. For the price this is a great kayak to get you started. I may buy a second one for my wife, the plan was to let me start with this and get a fancier kayak a bit later, she could then have this one. After today, and a few modifications that I can make i see no reason for that. This is a a great kayak for the money!!!!

Just got one of these at Sport's Authority for $249 and have…

Submitted by: on

Just got one of these at Sport's Authority for $249 and have taken it out twice now and I LOVE IT! Set up the foot braces, got a YAK pad, a Carlisle Daytripper paddle, and it's really comfortable for me. (I'm 5' 9" and about 175 lbs.) I put in at a local spot which is pretty calm water and made my way to the Gulf, which wasn't as bad as I expected. For the ticket price, entry into the "Kayaking Show" is AWESOME!!

The blue & white Pursuit 100, my first kayak - I got…

Submitted by: on

The blue & white Pursuit 100, my first kayak - I got for $254 out the door at walmart. I am very pleased with it. I am using it in CT river & Long Island Sound plus some lakes & ponds and have it rigged for fishing.

I use it when I go out by myself and don't feel like dealing with a heavy canoe that requires 2 people to get ontop my 4x4 or launching my 20' boat at busy boat launch.

I have not used other kayaks before but I think it performs very well in wind and current compared with my 17' canoe and costs nothing in fuel and it is now my favorite water vehicle for recreation and fishing (mostly striped bass, blue fish, flounder, perch) along the shoreline. It is so small and light I can throw it INSIDE my Mitsubishi Eclipse (sticking out the back a couple feet) to transport to local launch spots. With the money I saved over a more expensive brand/model I was able to outfit it well with fishing accessories and other gear.

It can be a bit tricky and/or intimidating sometimes reeling in a fish 1/3 or more the size of my "boat" and I think a larger, much more expensive kayak would be better but then it would lose the extreme ease of portability that this thing has which is the major reason I tried a kayak for fishing in the first place. As for the Ram-X material, it seems pretty durable so far and if it does sustain damage at some point I will not be out much money should it end the kayak's service. I don't think you can beat the value for the dollar of this kayak - it cost less than my hand-held GPS did.

Pursuit 100 DLX (aka Esprit 100 DLX) I purchased two of these boats…

Submitted by: on

Pursuit 100 DLX (aka Esprit 100 DLX)
I purchased two of these boats last summer (2007) from BJ's Wholesale Club, paying approx. $300 each, after a $50 off coupon on each. They came with some very useful wholesale club extras, including a spray skirt, foam rooftop carrier blocks and straps, and a basic paddle. The model I purchased (Pelican Esprit 100 DLX) is identical to the Pelican Pursuit 100 DLX. The Esprit is green and the Pursuit is blue.

This is an excellent recreational kayak for several reasons: low cost, very durable, fast enough, very stable, and nicely featured. Features include criss-crossing elastic gear cords on front deck, lift handles on both ends, a very handy paddle holder along edge of cockpit, adjustable footpegs, a water-resistant (not waterproof!) compartment on the rear deck, and pretty decently padded seat with an adjustable backpad. No cupholder though, but lots of other places to stow a water bottle. This is an excellent value to get you on the water and into the sport.

About 2 months after purchasing my boats, my daughter and I took these boats a 50-mile week-long trip on the W. Branch of the Penobscot River and Chesuncook Lake in Maine. While these 10' boats are not intended for this type of activity, they performed very well. The spray skirts that came with the boats worked great on Chesuncook Lake where the waves got so large they were often washing over the bow. We purchased aftermarket paddles since the basic paddles that came with boats were insufficient for trekking.

I can fit one of these boats inside my Grand Caravan minivan, and I put the second on the roof on the foam blocks they came with. Tracking of the shallow V hull is just OK, but not a deal killer in my view. I'm guessing they track average straight for a small boat without a rudder or skeg. Once you're out for any length of time, you correct the tracking without even noticing it. I should confess that I removed the foam flotation inside the hull to make room for more camping gear on our trek; however, the dry bags we used more than made up for the lost flotation.

This boat is perfect for kids, women, beginners -- anyone really -- looking for a relatively light, rugged, reasonably fast, compact play boat for exercise and even the occasional weekend trip. And, it won't break the bank. You can get a deal on this boat online, but also check your local warehouse store/flyers. It's March and my BJ's just got these boats back in stock recently, although I haven't seen a coupon for them yet. Enjoy!

I purchased this boat two years ago and didn't get to use…

Submitted by: on

I purchased this boat two years ago and didn't get to use it much the first year, but this last year I've used it almost every week during the spring, summer and up to fall.

The boat lacks a lot of the outfitting that other 10 footers have but I purchased a fit kit off of ebay that had a variety of foam blocks and instructions on how to fit them. I also mounted two scotty rod holders to it and bought a deluxe sprayskirt for the boat.

I have to say that this boat is an incredible deal for the money, and someone just getting into the sport or needing a second boat couldn't go wrong with this one. For a 10 footer it is reasonably fast and incredibly stable (you have to really try to take water in with this boat). The build quality is good especially when the durability of the material is taken into consideration. I've racked mine off rocks, slid it across sidewalks, down creek banks and honestly haven't taken care of it as I should, and it still is as good as new with only minor scratches to the hull that could be sanded or buffed off in a couple minutes. There is ample room in the boat for a day trip but I wouldn't recommend this as a weekend boat at all, no bulkheads, no waterproof hatches or storage and limited weight limits 275lbs on mine.

Now I have been paddling for most of my life in one form or another but this is my first sit in kayak and I most likely won't paddle much else again. I'm very happy this this boat and with the company in general and am now looking at purchasing the 140dlx and again doing my own outfitting on that boat and adding some bulkheads and hatches. You really can't go wrong with this boat. I will be keeping this boat as my 7 and 8 year old have taken an interest in it and I believe there isn't a better boat for the money out there.

I think its a real bargain. Easy to carry, store, and it…

Submitted by: on

I think its a real bargain. Easy to carry, store, and it seems to have tough materials. The boat does fine, and is mostly used in the Marina vicinity of Kemah, Tex. (where we have a sailboat slip). Otherwise, its occasionally used in rivers and lakes.

Bought a 2007 Pursuit 100 earlier this month and have taken it…

Submitted by: on

Bought a 2007 Pursuit 100 earlier this month and have taken it out about 5 times at the time of this review. Being a beginner to kayaking, I wanted something inexpensive to make sure I enjoyed the sport enough. At $229.00, it was a great buy and definitely a great starter kayak. I'd agree with many of the reviewers in saying that tracking is not one of the strong points of this boat, but with some extra work, you can manage. Stability is very good and quite spacious for average people with entry and exit into the kayak being fairly easy once you get the hang of it. With a few extra $$$s, you can add a few hooks to allow for extra on-deck storage and a paddle holder with shock cords.

Overall, definitely a great buy for the money, and perfect for beginners and first timers.

This is such a nice little boat - not recommended for anything…

Submitted by: on

This is such a nice little boat - not recommended for anything more than a novice... it's a bit tippy and the spray skirt is CRAP! as is the paddle, and the pathetically small deck hatch. I'm thinking of cutting the bottom out, so I can use it as a entry hole for gear...

For a beginner it's a great boat. Learn on this and pass it on or sell it and buy a better one... doesn't have to be a different brand but Necky boats are amazing; so fast, great tracking and beautiful boat when you out grow this one.

PS: surfing off speedboats waves is where this boat shines for some reason... it becomes a 9.5 in a big wave; tracks perfectly and is very stable... I think it might be the speed.

I ended up picking this boat up brand new in the plastic…

Submitted by: on

I ended up picking this boat up brand new in the plastic as a second yak for my Dad to use. It's labeled as a Coleman Ultimate 100. The same Coleman who produces tents and camping gear.

I'm 5'11" and 220Lbs. This kayak is slightly more cramped than my Emotion Advant-Edge and it lacks foot pegs. The crampiness makes up for no foot pegs and provides a bit of brace. With the smaller cockpit comes the not as easy task of getting in and out. Again its not terrible or super hard, just not as easy as my other yak.

It's a bit tippy, but very manageable. The boat paddles fairly easy. It doesn't seem to have much "glide" effect. It also doesn't seem to slice through the water. The front entry is fairly rounded and creates a small white cap while in motion. I tried to paddle it as fast as I could. The faster I tried to go, the less safe it felt.
I would think this Kayak is best fit for a person under 6' and under 200Lbs.

In ending it seems like a good kayak to start out in if available for a fair price. Very nice recreational. Also, I paddled it with a Carslie Day Tripper paddle. I did not like the way the paddle felt one bit. I paddle my Advant-Edge with a Cav Pro paddle.

I am a beginner, and felt that the Pursuit handled calm water…

Submitted by: on

I am a beginner, and felt that the Pursuit handled calm water ok. It did have a little tracking problems, but not bad. It was advertised it can handle a class II rapid. This was a disaster. With every decent hit, the kayak tipped over and left me swimming. The kayak filled up with water and I had to go to shore to dump out the water. Some of the problem was inexperience, but I have traveled this same section in other kayaks without coming close to going out. I plan on keeping the Pursuit for the lake or ponds.

Great kayak for a beginner like me. Very stable even with choppy…

Submitted by: on

Great kayak for a beginner like me. Very stable even with choppy waters. Has decent room and the back compartment is useful for small outings. Paid 349.00 CDN.

Just took this out on the weekend on some still water on…

Submitted by: on

Just took this out on the weekend on some still water on an inland lake. Bought it at sportcheck for $379. I did a lot of research but only wanted a cheap, entry level kayak.

It is everything I thought it would be. It does not track great, but fair. It does not glide very great. For what I wanted, the price I paid and my expectations, it is everything I thought it would be and more. I may upgrade in the future but for now it fits my needs. Very stable and fun. I don't have to worry about dragging it on the shore or hitting rocks or throwing it on the top of my truck (or in the back) because I got it cheap. If I had paid more money, I would be more careful. I would not recommend for a very long trip or in choppy water.

Loads of fun. Good entry boat. Hard to expect more for…

Submitted by: on

Loads of fun. Good entry boat. Hard to expect more for such a low price.

Bought this little boat for my wife. She had paddled my…

Submitted by: on

Bought this little boat for my wife. She had paddled my Old Town Loon 111 a couple of times and really loves that boat. She didn't like this one at all. Had trouble keeping it tracking in a straight line and complained the seat was less than comfortable. She found paddling it to be "work".
I tried it out and found the boat manageable but it definitely doesn't track well. Also will take on water in rough conditions. And the seat offers very poor back support, especially for someone like me who suffers from a bad back.

I guess the Pursuit would be an ok boat for a beginner who just wants to muck about in still water, but it is not a serious kayak. The Loon 111 at twice the price is 10 times the boat!

My first kayak purchase, only three outings to date. I have had…

Submitted by: on

My first kayak purchase, only three outings to date. I have had some training, but basicaly a beginner. Stability seems great, tracking not great, requires effort to keep on track, especially in windy conditions. Each time I take it out it seems easier to control. I am pleased with my purchase, and would reccommend this as a great starter for the money. I got my Pursuit 100 on sale at Canadian Tire for $299.00

First kayak, picked up after about 2 years of renting other models…

Submitted by: on

First kayak, picked up after about 2 years of renting other models.

This is the ideal boat for a beginner, stable and roomy. Outfitting left much to be desired as this model did not include bungees, a hatch gasket, or a comfortable seat. However, this leaves it up to the end user, and I bought the hardware to modify it to my liking for about $30.

The only consistent problem I had with this boat was tracking; it held its course about as well as a garbage truck on sheet ice. At least my paddling technique is now highly refined. Also, the cockpit coaming is not angled well enough to retain a sprayskirt at all. I went through three sprayskirts; each one left me with a limited range of movement without them slipping off the coaming. this is a problem in rough water on a cold day.

Verdict: Perfect for beginners, fishermen, nature watchers, and photographers on relatively calm water. For the price this boat is unbeatable, but it still has flaws that will annoy serious paddlers.

This was my first ever entry kayak. I figured I would spend…

Submitted by: on

This was my first ever entry kayak. I figured I would spend the least amount of money to see if the blood was in me. I used it for a few months until I had the genuine urge to upgrade. The boat has very strong primary stabilty but secondary I would not count on too much. It has decent room. The keel is permanantely slightly warped and it is enough to notice while paddling that correction is constanlty needed to keep course. I can't imagine that I did anything that could have caussed this and I belive it was a mfgr flaw in my personal kayak. I got this cheap and it is worth every penny. However I have the need to cover ground and it was a good learning kayak and I did cover a lot of ground while expeneding mucho energy. It turns very fast and I would find it favorable on a tight slower river. I used this mainly on slow rivers and calmer lakes. This ais a very durable beginnner kayak or for one who wants a sit in and room for fishing gear.

This is a great recreational kayak, a good choice for paddling on…

Submitted by: on

This is a great recreational kayak, a good choice for paddling on the pond or lake. We have two Pursuit 110s and have found them to be very stable, easy to paddle and track well. They have roomy cockpits with comfortable foot pegs and a molded, shock-corded holder for your paddle. The paddles that are supplied by Pelican are best left at home. Too short, too heavy and the blades are too wide. We tried the paddles on our first outing and switched to Bending Branches Whisper paddles before the second.

The Pursuit 10 is a great kayak. Turns well and cuts through…

Submitted by: on

The Pursuit 10 is a great kayak. Turns well and cuts through the water. A bit tippy and takes on water easily. I have beat the Hell out of this little boat.....For a novice paddler, it has hit 100 miles of Texas and Louisiana Rivers and Lakes with me and outperformed my expectations.

This was my starter kayak, and for the money it was a…

Submitted by: on

This was my starter kayak, and for the money it was a 10 out of 10. I only paid $230 for mine in Oct of 2005. A sporting goods store was getting rid of its summer stock. I'm keeping this kayak so friends can go out with me and my new Tsunami kayak. It's been so much fun.

My Easter basket came in the form of an Esprit DLX from…

Submitted by: on

My Easter basket came in the form of an Esprit DLX from Pelican. Who cares for chocolate when you can kayak in Florida and get within 20 feet of feeding Ospreys and Great Blue Herons. My wife got one too and our maiden voyage was a gas. We were so dead tired when we got home that we turned around and went out the next day. This is the first kayak I have ever been in. I would highly recommend this kayak as a first one. The kayak is slippery and light. Take a ziplock to keep your stuff dry in the deck storage. Both of us are soon going to get longer paddles. We expect to get into the Intra-Coastal soon and then the surf. Definitely get a Pelican as your first kayak.

I received my Pursuit 10 as a gift. I spend a lot…

Submitted by: on

I received my Pursuit 10 as a gift. I spend a lot of time on the lakes and rivers in the Ozarks. The kayak handles well for what it is. I added some seat padding (for warmth in the early spring) and custom padding for my knees. Now I am ready for the season! The paddle that comes with the Pursuit 10 is very heavy and is a good backup only. I use a bending braches whisper (230 cm). The storage compartment in the stern is not watertight, but is great for an ice pack and a few bottles of water. All in all, it is a great kayak for the money.

Definitely a good buy. The best. I had a Necky sky and…

Submitted by: on

Definitely a good buy. The best. I had a Necky sky and bought this for 350. It came with a paddle. I just got back. Tracking isn’t the best but it smoothly slices through the water. I haven’t had it in white water but that’s tomorrow.

I just bought the Pursuit 10 Fade also known as the (Esprit)…

Submitted by: on

I just bought the Pursuit 10 Fade also known as the (Esprit) it retails for $430 I got it for a great price. I got it for $329 now that came with everything it came with the kayak, the kayak carrier, the paddle, and the spray skirt. It is the best kayak I’ve kayaked in on the ocean. Even under around 2-3 feet waves coming over the bow. Now I’ve tried Old Town kayaks, the 10’ Loon I think, and it was not half the boat. So if you want a good kayak buy this one for price and for fun.

Bought this kayak at Academy for around $280, it is well worth…

Submitted by: on

Bought this kayak at Academy for around $280, it is well worth the money. Tracking is pretty good considering the boat is 28" wide and only 10' long. It is quite as fast as I would like it to be but it's by no means slow. Did well in a moderate chop and strong winds in a bay near Destin, FL. The dry storage doesn't work that well as you can not keep the straps tight enough to keep water out of it. All in all a great kayak for beginners, I will probably keep mine a while until I can afford something a little faster.