your paddlesports destination

The popular Guide 147 represents a breakthrough in design and construction that provides a durable, stiff and affordable canoe. With its unique cross-section and stabilizing chines, the Guide 147 delivers exceptional stability, as well as rugged durability. And its sharp entry provides a surprisingly efficient paddling canoe. Stable enough for fishing or nature watching, yet versatile enough for family outings - all at an affordable price! 

View Product Details

Reviews

It's a great canoe and not to bad to sleep in...

Submitted by: on

I had mine for a couple of months now, I live in Louisiana so there are plenty of places to go. It's a great canoe and not to bad to sleep in.

I have a 2009 old town 174. I'm 70 years…

Submitted by: on

I have a 2009 old town 174. I'm 70 years old and weigh to much, 195#. I have fished with it several times on large lakes and have only turned it over once. Luckily it was not deep so I just walked to the shore. So it is tipsy. If you keep your weight centered you should be okay.

One problem is the seats are situated high and the front paddler has no leg room and the rear paddler when solo causes the bow to lift. It is impossible for the front paddler to turn around and move to the center of the boat on the water. So I took the front seat out and moved it to the center, drilling required, making it useful for kayak paddling from the center. carrying support was moved. The boat is to heavy for me to carry so I drag it to the lake. The bottom gets scratched up, but it's tough enough to last a long time. Since the price is low I could replace it when the bottom goes.

I have used other canoes that were 16 footers with keel so they tracked better than the 174. The 16's weighed about the same as the 174 but seem to plow through the water better. In a wind the 174 becomes a beast to paddle. Even with a trolling motor in the wind it goes all over. I suggest if this is your first canoe that you spend a little more and get a better canoe. It will make your canoe adventure a much better experience.

This is a great all around canoe and if it were ever…

Submitted by: on

This is a great all around canoe and if it were ever stolen or somehow destroyed I'd get another one to replace it! I use it for everything from multi day canoe camping trips to fishing for a few hours with my son. If you're looking for a great multi purpose canoe, put this one on your short list!

I purchased the Old Town Guide 147 at Dunhams Sports for recreational…

Submitted by: on

I purchased the Old Town Guide 147 at Dunhams Sports for recreational use and fishing on local lakes in PA. I chose this canoe, over a kayak, because my girlfriend at the time wanted to go fishing with me, so I needed a two seater. The price point was fair, ~$500, and the construction was excellent. We ran aground on the rocky shores of the Quemahoning reservoir with hardly a scratch to show for it. The carrying handles, seats, and the yolk were very sturdy and securely fastened to the rest of the canoe. One person In the water, this canoes is very stable and easy to enter and exit without going for an inadvertent swim. One of the few issues we had were the hard plastic seats, which wore out ones rump during a long day of paddling or fishing. This issue, however, could be easily remedied with replacement seats or a folded towel. The seat backs are kind of adjustable, with straps pulled or loosened to adjust the angle, but its kind of hard to get the angle just right. Other than the minor issues the Old Town Guide 147 is a perfect canoe for the casual paddler looking for a getaway on a local lake or lazy river.

We have used this guide 147 on the Econfina creek from Youngstown…

Submitted by: on

We have used this guide 147 on the Econfina creek from Youngstown to hwy20. Very good with abrasions from the limestone shoots, and very good stability, but not so good with speed, you can not hurt this canoe, it's a good buy !

I've had this Old Town Guide 147 for about 20 years. Incredible…

Submitted by: on

I've had this Old Town Guide 147 for about 20 years. Incredible. I've been going on a 4-day river trip with a group of close friends for 26 years straight. We load tons of gear, four days straight on a river bringing coolers, tents, etc., probably several hundred pounds of gear. The canoe has held up great. Given the amount of gear, we only go on rivers with Class II at most, but do encounter low areas where we need to drag across a rock outcrop. Even scraping the canoe over rocks, the bottom has held up great. The triple poly hull will take all you can give it. My friends have the OT 158 Discovery. This one cuts the water a bit better on flat water, but this Guide is a lot more stable. When my 3 kids were young, the whole family fit it. Great stability. The contour seats will last a lifetime. One guy had a Mad River, the wood seats got destroyed, replaced several time. The Guide's seats will last as long as the canoe. I do add a Seatback, as we spend four days straight on the river. Our Old Towns even fell off our trailer one time and dragged on the road. Still good. Can't say enough about the Old Town Product.

I was looking for a canoe to use for this upcoming hunting…

Submitted by: on

I was looking for a canoe to use for this upcoming hunting season. I decided on the Old Town Guide 147. First of all because Old Town canoes are some of the best most practical canoes on the market. The canoe I chose came in the camoflauge color scheme which will be nice for blending it intothe woods if I ever decide to stash it and scout an area. II've already taken my Guide 147 on several weekend camping trips and have had no problem fitting 2 grown men and more than enough gear.

This canoe has a fairly sharp bow and stern and paddles very efficientlt and tracks very well. The canoe measures in at 14'7" from bow to stern, 38" wide & 13" deep. It's constructed with a durable 3 layer polyethylene plastic and is surprisingly light at only 82 lbs...with the carry yolk...it's no problem to carry this canoe on your shoulders and make those portages through the woods to the next put in. It also has 2 carry handles that are incorporated into the bow and stern decks. The canoe has 2 contoured molded seats with fold up back rests which make staying out a little longer than expected no trouble...I mean who wants to leave when the fish are biting?

This canoe is one of the more stable ones that I've been in. As long as you don't act crazy while doing it...standing to fish is no problem...I've also had to stand a time or two to retrieve my favorite lure from a low hanging tree branch lol. If you're looking for a great canoe for hunting, fishing, or just a fun family day on the water you should definitely consider the Old Town Guide 147.

I purchased my Old Town Guide 147 model a few years off…

Submitted by: on

I purchased my Old Town Guide 147 model a few years off line, second hand. The original owner had garage kept it and used it mainly at local lakes and streams here in east TN. My biggest complaint about the boat was its overall stability. Initial stability was not all that good and caused me to overturn the boat twice, something that had never happened to me before in other boats.

The boat did turn on a dime and was easy enough to load by one person. The boat was also very tough, made from polyethylene. Overall by biggest two complaints were how ""tippy"" the boat felt and its limited ability to carry ample gear.

I now have a couple day trips and one weekender under my…

Submitted by: on

I now have a couple day trips and one weekender under my belt with the Guide 147 and while I admittedly prefer kayaks I feel that the Guide 147 is a good family recreational canoe and passable tripping canoe.

I only have one real gripe about this canoe, regardless of how it is used. That gripe involves the molded plastic seats.The seat backs are adjustable for back support but can flop forward into the folded position on their, which seems to happen just as you are entering the canoe and trying to sit down. Rather annoying! Some bungee cord takes car of that but I feel that it is something Old Town could address by incorporating the bungee into the seat's design. Secondly, the plastic seats get slippery when one us wearing wet nylon shorts or swim wear. I found that i would have to constantly readjust my position because the seat profile would cause me to slip forward and slightly downward in the seat, which caused some strain on my lower back. A good seat pad can alleviate this and provide some extra comfort.

Finally, where the seats are concerned, their profiles are pretty bulky and I felt I couldn't kneel to paddle because I was worried that my feet would get caught between the bottom of the seat and and the canoe, especially with foot wear on. While I mostly paddle seated, I like the option of occasionally going to my knees to relieve back strain or raise my height to scout for submerged obstacles.

Aside from the seats, the Guide 147 is a good family canoe for recreational use. It is stable enough and roomy enough to comfortably hold 2 adults and a dog or a couple smaller children. It will also hold those same two adults and enough gear for a week-end trip, possibly even enough for a week long trip if the adults are the kind who pack lean and mean.

On my last outing in the Guide 147 we ended up having to deal with a decent chop and small white caps. Our direction of travel happened to match the wind direction so it wasn't too bad paddling to shelter. However, I think the canoe has a tendency to weather cock in strong wind because we ended up broadside to the waves a couple times when the stern paddler took a momentary break. Not the most ideal situation but since we didn't broach it appears that the canoe can handle it with experienced paddlers aboard.

The Guide is pretty robust, which can be an advantage where heavily stained waters hide submerged obstacles or most landing sites are really rocky. However that robustness comes at a distinct weight cost that can make its self evident when portaging or crossing beaver dams.

Where portaging is concerned, it's doable with the Guide as long as the distance is measured in yards, instead of miles, and the trail isn't too rough or terrain allows the use of a cart. The shape and and position of the molded seats makes a two man shoulder carry awkward, which my brother and I felt ruled out the kind of wilderness portage that involves a couple miles and poor trails or outright bushwhacking.

Overall, I feel the Guide 147 is a good recreational and general purpose canoe whose only real flaw is the seats, which can be remedied pretty easily and cheaply with bungee cord and seat pads. That being said the really adventure minded paddlers might want to look elsewhere as the canoe's weight could becoming a limiting factor.

My wife is not the water person but feels very safe in…

Submitted by: on

My wife is not the water person but feels very safe in this canoe. Only drawback for me 80lbs. I know it makes it more stable but I'm no spring chicken anymore.. Can't go wrong buy it.

This canoe is about 14.5 foot and made from polyethylene. I…

Submitted by: on

This canoe is about 14.5 foot and made from polyethylene. I have paddled an older version, so the rating is based on that (though I believe the newer ones have improvements, such as the seats, and may deserve a higher rating). Seems like a decent model if you want to avoid aluminum. I did notice that it will have a bit harder time keeping up with other canoes I have tried (likely due to a combination of shorter length while still having a wide beam, and potentially also a slight material effect versus aluminum); overall, GPS showed it was fairly consistently about a half mile per hour slower than a 16-foot aluminum Aurora canoe with the same two paddlers across the range of "steady but moderate paddling" up to strong, full-effort paddling.

Old town Guide 14.7, From a 100 year old Historic Canoe Company…

Submitted by: on

Old town Guide 14.7, From a 100 year old Historic Canoe Company, Old town Brings the guide series to the market and has left in its production line for many years. Why you may ask, because this is a wonderfully designed canoe designed for nature watching, fishing and all around fun getting around the lakes or rivers of your choice. The canoe's name alone was a piece of mind "OLD TOWN GUIDE"

Built with its long chines that stabilize the craft whether its loaded down with gear or just floating lightly across the water by yourself. The construction is is a three layer polyethylene that's tough and forgiving, just perfect for the beginner or the expert paddler.

I like the ash-wood yoke in the center making it and easy portage to the water line or the vehicle rack and the seats are very comfortable and secure. Another nice design I like is having the built in handles in the bow and stern, making easier to handle in the water and out off water ready to transport.

This canoe is fun and rides smoothing across the water, I choose this canoe for the name and then the price just having a child this was a canoe I could afford and enjoy. I've had this canoe in several lakes in Oklahoma and Texas as well as white water rivers in Texas, it tracks great and is easy to paddle, not the fastest canoe out there buy no means but this craft will not disappoint you if you buy it with what its intention are for: Enjoyment in nature and paddling.

Stability is my favorite attribute in this canoe, both initial and while…

Submitted by: on

Stability is my favorite attribute in this canoe, both initial and while paddling. I can practically lean out and over and the canoe hold me up. The plastic molded seats are comfortable and supportive (more so with an added seat back and seat cushion for long trips). The one item I would like for an improvement is to lower the weight of the canoe. However it is rugged and takes bounces, rock hits well - Note: I paddle on quiet waters not rushing rivers.

Very nice canoe. My friend loaned me his to demo before I…

Submitted by: on

Very nice canoe. My friend loaned me his to demo before I made a purchase. With its width and stability, I really wanted to try one. I hate to say I weigh 330 pounds. I am on a strict diet and exercise program so i can canoe again like i did for many years. I have been apprehensive about getting in a canoe, but i said lets give it a try. I took my 6 year old and his 8 year friend. I wanted to put as much weight toward the bow to keep the boat more balanced, due to my lard rear end. I dragged the canoe across a lot in our neighbor hood to our little private lake.

First of all, not only does the 147 look great, it is light enough to handle while dragging or loading on car. We got in and to my surprise I was canoeing again! I loved the canoe due to its stability. Having two young boys excited and making sudden moves, even though i warned them not to, the canoe remained very stable. I am happy to say the kids now say everyday,"can we please go canoeing dad"?

I will purchase an Old Town 147 Guide from Dicks Sporting Goods since it is also in my budget. I'm sure there are a lot of canoes that are wonderful, but for the money, this is one fine canoe. This comment is coming from a guy who got hooked on pizza and not enough outdoors. One thing for sure, my ways are changing for health reasons, also so I can take this 6 yr old canoeing in Arkansas on some level 1 family outings. I'm putting together a spring canoe trip as we speak. By then I plan to be 75 pounds lighter and j stroking like crazy. Hope this review will help someone who is large and needs confidence in purchasing the right canoe.

We had our 147 for about 2 years and found it to…

Submitted by: on

We had our 147 for about 2 years and found it to be a solid, almost indestructible piece of equipment. I bounced it off all kinds of things I would avoid with my own hand built strip and glass canoe. It WILL hold a pile of camping gear and IS quite stable.

Having said that there were a few things I hated about it. Start with the weight, 74lbs?, ya right. It weighed that much after I removed the lounge chairs and replaced them with proper cane seats. When on the water the bottom of the canoe would bulge upward unless there was a load or a brace between the bottom and the thwart making it much heavier to paddle.

I liked it enough to sell it to a friend who wanted a canoe that his kids could use and abuse and not destroy but not enough to recommend it for much beyond that. It is serviceable but not much more.

This is one of the best canoes that I've paddled and owned…

Submitted by: on

This is one of the best canoes that I've paddled and owned. Very comfortable empty or loaded with camping gear. Stable in moving water and responsive. Very easy to paddle solo as the side chimes keep you tracking properly and responsive. Very pleased and a great durable canoe capable of being abused within reason. Extremely pleased with my choice to own this for years. And I'm an avid paddler. Thanks for a great canoe.

Took mine down plenty of class 2 and 3 rapids and did…

Submitted by: on

Took mine down plenty of class 2 and 3 rapids and did just fine , had a couple of flips but mostly due to operator error, solo without any customizing. With a kneeling thwart and some airbags this boat became a whole different kind of monster, amazing control in swift water for a traditional canoe and the increased stability made into a really fun ride. I love my old town, wouldn't trade it for the world.

A couple of years ago I was doing a lot of tinkering…

Submitted by: on

A couple of years ago I was doing a lot of tinkering with our canoes in the search for the perfect solo canoe, thinking I could perhaps create one. I purchased the Guide 147 thinking I might use it as a solo canoe (right length, no keel). I should mention that soloing for me means using a kayak paddle and sitting toward the middle of the boat.

Long story shortened, the Guide 147 didn't work well. It was quite slow. I found also that it oil canned badly. When I tried it with my wife in tandem, it didn't perform well either. Bottom line I guess....it was a cheap boat and the moral of the story is you get what you pay for, and, why would I think it would work as a solo boat anyway?! A plus would be that it is very likely indestructible. I sold it a few weeks ago and got pretty much what I paid for it!

We have owned the Guide 147 since 2001. Our first trip was…

Submitted by: on

We have owned the Guide 147 since 2001. Our first trip was to the BWCA, and although it slow, it definitely is very stable. We were crossing Duncan Lake along with a kevlar in very windy conditions. Whereas the kevlar flipped, we were able to maintain a straight and steady course. Almost felt like we were on a cruise ship. It's great for day trips and its almost totally indestructible. Our only regret is that when this came out in 2001 it didn't come with back supports.

Have owned several canoes. Have had a Guide 147 for six…

Submitted by: on

Have owned several canoes. Have had a Guide 147 for six years. Used on rivers, lakes, for days at a time. Couldn't ask for a better all-round canoe.

Used this model for a five day canoe trip, that includes a…

Submitted by: on

Used this model for a five day canoe trip, that includes a 1.5 mile portage. The canoe was wonderful to travel with, stable, turned well, but wasn't the best at tracking and was easily propelled (even with all the gear and a second, lazy person:). Not a fun canoe to carry though, its heavy and cumbersome (like every other canoe is on land).
Overall a very comfortable canoe!

I have had this boat on the slow rivers, lakes, and gulf…

Submitted by: on

I have had this boat on the slow rivers, lakes, and gulf coast and has always performed very well. Many day trips with the family. A few over nighters and one upper Suwannee River trip. Always a pleasure to paddle.

It had been about 20 years since I had been in a…

Submitted by: on

It had been about 20 years since I had been in a canoe. I spent my youth doing it however. So I finally got to the point where I could buy one and I recognized that Old Town was a good name when it came to canoes. I own a Guide 147. I do not see where stability is a big issue and it maneuvers nicely with the proper strokes. It is awesome for the price.

Love it. I give it a 9 because I'm sure I can pay more and get one more suited for other purposes like white water. It helps to test the tipping point.

I have owned my Guide 147 for roughly ten years now. I…

Submitted by: on

I have owned my Guide 147 for roughly ten years now. I have used the boat everywhere from lakes while fishing to class I &II rapids. Can't say enough about the durability. Due to lack of storage out boat is stored outside year around. It has not faded or cracked. We have some pretty major scrapes and gouges from floating when the water was to low and they are all cosmetic. Nothing has come close to puncturing the hull.

I have only tipped this canoe 2 times in all the years I've owned it and both times were from hitting large rocks in fast moving but shallow water. I agree that due to the low sides you definitely take on some water when hitting the rapids but never enough to cause worry. If you're scared of getting wet then maybe you shouldn't be in a boat on the water in the first place.

I know there are fancier, lighter, possibly easier to handle canoes on the market. And those are great for all of the "professional" hardcore whitewater paddlers out there. But for a real family that needs a tough dependable boat that they can gets YEARS of enjoyment out of, the Guide is at the top of the list.

I am on my second Guide 147, I bought ash/web seats on…

Submitted by: on

I am on my second Guide 147, I bought ash/web seats on E-bay for 20 each they are very nice I lowered them about 3 inches, the stability issue goes away

Comfortable contoured plastic seats, good back support. Good initial and excellent paddling…

Submitted by: on

Comfortable contoured plastic seats, good back support. Good initial and excellent paddling stability. Would prefer a lightweight option. Wide open cockpit ideal for my long legs and ease of access.

Have had our Old Towne Guide 147 for about 3 years now…

Submitted by: on

Have had our Old Towne Guide 147 for about 3 years now. We love it! It is a bit heavy as others have mentioned, but with my son and I carrying it loaded with our gear it really isn't too much trouble. It is a bit tippy when you first get in it but as soon as we settle in and relax it doesn't seem to be bad at all. I purchased a removable third seat for it and have had a 3rd teenage boy in it with us. A bit cramped but did not affect the stability of the craft. I grew up living on a lake and had owned a 17' aluminum canoe since I was 14 up until my late 30's when I sold that one to move West.I have been looking for a replacement for that one for 10 years, and am very pleased with this one. I have yet to tip this one, as it could be my experience that has prevented us from doing so. If you want a good family utility canoe for the money the Guide 147 is the one to get.

I have paddled a guide on rivers in Iowa for about 20…

Submitted by: on

I have paddled a guide on rivers in Iowa for about 20 years and in the BWCA. I call it the tank. It is a incredibly tough boat, can literally drag the boat over rock bars. Heavy for portaging but is possible. With a lot of weight in the boat you move about 1' for each stroke. Great for floating down rivers.

This canoe is a good solid starter. I got mine from my…

Submitted by: on

This canoe is a good solid starter. I got mine from my folks, they couldn't get along while paddling, kayaking fits them better. It is a bit slow but stability is great, flip only twice cause son tried to climb in from side and pulled it over. I've used it in class III rivers in Tn and lakes in north Texas. I was able to navigate and paddle myself in both river and lake. It has a middle seat and it does feel a bit more tippsey with a third person sitting up high how ever if they sit lower or on the floor that tippsey feel goes away. I've gone down class II standing up in the back with wife in front and son in the middle and it was very stable. I have been canoeing and kayaking for many years, growing up in the Rockies I spent many hours of my like growing up in rivers and creeks, this was the first canoe my wife and son have ever been in, I feel quite confident in the canoe that my wife and son can paddle it by their self down class II rivers or lakes while I'm in my kayak. If you are new to canoeing or looking for a nice stable canoe for your kids you can't go wrong with this canoe. I wouldn't recommend taking it down anything higher than a class III (or a class II for newbies,) because of the low sides. But if you want a good stable rec canoe for the lake or some river, or for some fishing you can't go wrong. The price won't break your wallet and the stability will keep your gear and you dry. Well that is my two cents not all will agree and not all will agree. Getting a canoe or a kayak is like shopping for a car or shoes you need to look about at you options and your budget find on that will do what you want it to do and one that is comfortable. Don't just take my review or anyone else's at that fact as to pure fact , look at all reviews find a place where you can try out different ones and pick one you like that is in your price range and you feel comfortable with and you will have many many years of enjoyment to come.

Well, as far as being unstable I haven't found it to be…

Submitted by: on

Well, as far as being unstable I haven't found it to be so. My wife and I have had one for about three yrs. now and we live on a river and use it often. We pack lawn chairs, an ice chest, sun umbrella, picnic basket and two Boykin Spaniels in ours on a regular basis and haven't turned over yet. However, I've let various people use it and placing a third person amidships sitting on something high like an ice chest seems to be a recipe for disaster with this canoe.

As far as handling characteristics, it's pretty much a pig when your by yourself in a high wind. I have to kneel amidships to turn it into the wind. This is my second canoe and I preferred the first one which was a 17 foot aluminum with a keel. It tracked better and carried a lot more gear, but the 147's not all that bad.

u can dance drunk naked in this boat if u r ok…

Submitted by: on

u can dance drunk naked in this boat if u r ok with initial instability, secondary stability very good. handles like a barge in the wind. Have Run several class three rapids, ran them clean but had to bail out water due to sides being as low as they r. Wouldn't recommended for any thing above something that has consistent class 2. Added 3/4 inch plywood to middle with cut out for five gallon, live bait bucket. Have even rigged transom with electric 36lbs thrust motor, even that worked ok

Overall, Heavy, Slow, not really a river boat unless it's primarily a float trip. I've treated mine like shit and it has held up well. It can take a pretty good ding without damage. Good family boat. O.K to fish out of.

Well, rating Canoes is like rating shoes..... You can rate for…

Submitted by: on

Well, rating Canoes is like rating shoes..... You can rate for a specific function but giving an overall rating on a shoe is nearly impossible. For instance, baseball cleats would make horrible dress shoes,and dress shoes would make horrible running shoes but they are all good for what they are designed for.

In that sense I would call the Guide 147 a good pair of "walking" shoes. Durable, good enough looking and comfortable in a few different situations....
It isn't going to win any races, and I wouldn't take it down any major white water with the shorts sides. But for a general purpose very affordable, quality canoe I would recommend for the average recreational canoer.

Being 6'2" 290 and unable to kneel with a bum knee canoes def can get tippy on me, but the secondary stability on this is very good. I take my 5 yo and 6 yo out in this canoe and we fish in it just fine. It is a bit heavy but I am fine to carry alone the short distances. Love the durability of it and love the price ($450 in 2010 at Sports Autority).

Sure it handles like a barge in the wind but that is the trade off with the stability, thick material it is made from and low sides for easier paddling. NO canoe does everything perfect, but i say for 70% of your canoers out there this is a great fit.

This is a good solid and stable canoe. Great for families and…

Submitted by: on

This is a good solid and stable canoe. Great for families and introducing kids to canoes. I have a Wenonah solo in Kevlar Ultralight and this canoe is clearly on the opposite end of the spectrum. It is heavy (almost 80 lbs) but as a result indestructible. I drag it across the parking lot and down the concrete ramp to launch - would NOT be doing that with my kevlar solo.

I was out this afternoon with my wife, 3.5 year old and 1.5 year old on a medium sized pond with some wind. I was the only one paddling and was kneeling with my butt resting on the rear seat with a straight shaft paddle. The canoe was solid and easy to steer. Not the fastest but perfect for these purposes. The kids were leaning out over the gunwales putting their fingers in the water and sure, it leans, but it is easy to manage, especially kneeling, and never felt like we were even close to tipping. I bought it used for $350 and would do so again.

I did a 5 day trip in this beast this summer and…

Submitted by: on

I did a 5 day trip in this beast this summer and wow, totally impressed. I do not like the fact that it doesn't have a rear thwart. I have taken the liberty of installing rear and forward thwarts for stability and for gear protection. Taking it down Lusk Creek in southern Illinois this weekend. come on Class I's and II's

To all those people reporting the Guide 147 as tippy please take…

Submitted by: on

To all those people reporting the Guide 147 as tippy please take a good look at the hull. Took mine out today for the first time and had trouble keeping it upright! Got it home and gave it a good inspection (I know, I should have done it at the store!) Looking down the keel one half of the arch is 'bowed' more than the other, now I know why I was tipping to one side. Called the store and guy said they have been having problems with their canoes from their distribution center.

Lesson: Give your canoe a really good looking over before buying.

This is a good beginner canoe and a really tough canoe, too…

Submitted by: on

This is a good beginner canoe and a really tough canoe, too. It is great for flatwater, and some mild whitewater. The primary stability is not great but better in a kneeling position of course. The secondary stability is great with a good paddle brace.

Pros: Tough, Affordable, Versatile
Cons: Heavy, Slow, Heavy, Slow, Flexes a bit

Overall it is a great beginner canoe and a good spare or loaner. I could see it as a good rental investment too.

I am a science teacher in Port Townsend, Washington and this year…

Submitted by: on

I am a science teacher in Port Townsend, Washington and this year we are doing Marine Biology right out on Puget Sound. I have assembled a "fleet" of canoes. Two Mad Rivers, two Navarros, and five Old Towns, four of which are Old Town Guide 147s! The four Guides (two red and two green) are rock solid in the water. They don't even come close to tipping. They are also virtually indestructible. We bang against barnacle encrusted pilings all the time. Great canoe for getting kids out on the water!

This canoe is a piece of junk, which is why I wonder…

Submitted by: on

This canoe is a piece of junk, which is why I wonder how anyone can rate this a 9 or a 10. The center bulges up from the force of the water. It handles like a pig. It is not even really a canoe. Just something shaped like a canoe that Dick's can sell to make a buck. I guess the price should have been the give away. If you plan is to camp on a little lake and let the kids us this to paddle around near the shore then it might be Ok but if were running this company I would be ashamed to market junk like this. I gave this two stars because we didn't sink and I was able to unload the canoe on some greater fool.

This canoe is very rugged and well made. Great value, really. However…

Submitted by: on

This canoe is very rugged and well made. Great value, really. However, it has shortcomings: (1) initial stability is marginal for fishing, (2) without a center seat, it limits you--buy an aftermarket center seat, and (3) this canoe is hard to work with solo.

Let me begin by saying this is a tough, well made, solid…

Submitted by: on

Let me begin by saying this is a tough, well made, solid canoe. I don't think you could destroy it with a bulldozer. That being said, I'm not happy with the stability of it. I wasn't aware it had such a flat bottom. Took it out on a smooth lake yesterday and aside from that initial [in]stability, it was relatively A-OK. It got windy on the lake and it became a bear to handle, though. Brought it home and put it in my pool for more stability tests, thinking that maybe 'cause it was new I needed to get used to it. Well, I found its tipping point, or should I say tossing point! It nearly launched me and completely capsized with little effort at trying to tip it. My wife's words at that moment: "I'm not getting in that thing and neither is the dog"!

So, I have a dilemma. Do I try to sell it a two day old canoe and take a dumping on it, return it to the store 250 miles away, or ship it back for a refund via UPS for $150.00? All these problems are on me as I didn't try it out prior to purchase, (no one had one locally) but I have had other canoes (including an Old Town Disco 169) and a GREAT Stowe Allagash fiberglass model. At any rate, while it is obviously a good canoe for some, I think I bit off more than I could chew.
Anyone wanna buy a new Guide 147?

I own 2 Old Town Guide boats 14.7 and I love them…

Submitted by: on

I own 2 Old Town Guide boats 14.7 and I love them. I put cane yoke seats in the center of the canoes and my wife a I solo trip all the time. Putting the center seat in ($50 tops on Ebay) makes the canoe even more fun. It makes fishing and soloing just perfect because the canoe isn't that long. I have portaged my canoe with no problem. These canoes are built heavier but that's to my advantage. You can beat on the canoe and it will not break....run into things and not worry about it breaking....it really is a perfect all around canoe....

I love my Guide 147!!I take it out almost every weekend out…

Submitted by: on

I love my Guide 147!!I take it out almost every weekend out on a lake not that far from my home. This canoe is hard to to tip. I have to force the canoe to tip to practice getting myself back in (At the front or back by yourself or if there are 2 of you on either side but not on the same side and at the same time).

I load it up with my gear and two other guys and to for a weekend out on it. I have no problem at all putting 3 people in the canoe. I just use a beach chair right behind the yoke and you got a good amount of room. I can stand up in the canoe with no problem at all. You just have to trust it and not be stiff. Who ever said that it tips easy is scared of tipping to the point where they are to stiff. It is heavy and not easy to carry alone. I use the foam blocks to transport it form my house to the lake and back.

I'm planing on taking it down a river trip soon and I'm sure that I will not have any issue with it. I love this canoe and I think that everyone should at least try one before to buy one. It's a good price for a good canoe.

I just purchased a new Guide last weekend and took it out…

Submitted by: on

I just purchased a new Guide last weekend and took it out that Sunday. It was great on the river and wife highly enjoyed it also. Not our first canoe but definitely our favorite so far.

Old Town is a pretty durable manufacturer in my experiences with them in the past. Boat handles as expected and meets my requirements of slow to medium flowing rivers with gear.

It's a great little recreational canoe, yes it's heavy. I took…

Submitted by: on

It's a great little recreational canoe, yes it's heavy. I took the seat backs off for mobility reasons. It has done well in high winds on lakes, and well with waves. Taking it down the Green River in Kentucky in late June. I gave it a 8 due to weight and the seat's.

Did lots of research and settled on the Guide 147. I absolutely…

Submitted by: on

Did lots of research and settled on the Guide 147. I absolutely love it. Yes, it is a little heavy and it also is a little difficult to solo in, but overall it is great.

I paddled this canoe in a lake with severe wind gusts. The lake is mostly flooded timber with great coves that can keep you out of the wind, but there are a few places where you have to paddle the open water. I did it by myself and it was fine. I used my gear at as ballast and it went fine. Really like this boat!!!

I just purchased an Old Town Guide 147 and Its great. I…

Submitted by: on

I just purchased an Old Town Guide 147 and Its great. I am an avid canoeist and operated over 20 different model canoe's over the past 15 years, anywhere from nice sleek plastic canoe's to the old honkin giant bent to crap aluminum boats. I finally was able to save enough pennies and go buy my first canoe. My wife and I normally go canoeing on rivers and waterways, but this weekend we just wanted to test out our new vessel and took it to a lake at a local park. Whoever said it was tippy? This is a very stable canoe, I can see if you get it up on a log on the keel, you may find it more tippy than your typical flat bottom canoe. I thought for having it out in the middle of a windy lake, that it handled great and tracked very well. We can't wait to take it down the Pine River and really test her out. 10 out 10 for us.

The best recreational canoe on the market; especially for the price.…

Submitted by: on

The best recreational canoe on the market; especially for the price. This canoe is not a technical canoe; its a general purpose recreational canoe; perfect for most people/families. The canoe is not meant to portage (it's too heavy), or other technical uses. Buy a canoe model to match the intended use. Buy this canoe if you want a general use recreational canoe. Yes, the initial stability of the canoe is "tipsy" upon entry; however secondary stability is great. Tipping this canoe in a lake is very difficult; very safe for a family with kids.

My wife and I love to paddle, but have always rented canoes…

Submitted by: on

My wife and I love to paddle, but have always rented canoes due to the cost of purchasing. After a great deal of research we found that the Old Town Guide 147 seemed to be what we needed for the price we could afford. We just purchased one from Academy and took it for its maiden voyage on a local lake.

The Guide was perfect! The hull is firm. The Guide's weight, width, and hull design gave it a very stable feel. I am used to 16 foot rentals, but the 147 tracked just fine. There was a light breeze, but the bow seemed low enough that the wind had little effect. Paddling was almost effortless, so I think they could've named this the Glide. Launching was no problem at all. There was a little wobble the first step into the boat, but I am tall and probably didn't bend low enough stepping in. Landing was easy, because this canoe handles well. I was able to slip the bow right where I wanted into the bank.

I loaded the canoe on a headache rack and hitch pole by myself. It was a bit heavy when wet, but I think that will become a nonfactor when I get used to flipping it with the right leverage and body position. The three-layer poly might weigh more, but I like its rigid feel. The kid at the store showed me another brand of plastic canoe and I told him to push in on the side and then push in on the side of the Guide. You could see realization in his eyes when he said, "Oh, I see why you want the Guide!" The Guide 147 made a great first impression on my wife and I.
I would give it a gold star!

I've had this boat for over a year now, and I have…

Submitted by: on

I've had this boat for over a year now, and I have to say it is a great canoe. This is my 2nd canoe. We've done shallow, 6" slow rivers with no problem. We go out on lakes a couple times a week, and it always treats us well.

Our canoe has seats with backs. It's a 2008. It's very stable and solid in the water. We took it on a 3 days camping trip through the Nueces and 2 days camping trip through lower Guadalupe River area in TX. It handled all of our gear with no problem. The only reason I gave the boat a 9 is because it is very heavy at 74 pounds. It's no problem for short easy portaging though.

We love this boat, it does everything we want, and was cheap, only $435 from Bass Pro Shop. I would recommend it.

Purchased for $350 on sale at Dick's Sporting Goods in December 2006…

Submitted by: on

Purchased for $350 on sale at Dick's Sporting Goods in December 2006, I can't say anything bad about the canoe. Have used it mostly on lakes, a little on the heavy side (74 lbs.) but not unreasonable. Slow go in much of a head wind but stable as the day is long. I never sat in a canoe before I bought this one, have had it out 20 plus times and have never turned it over except for one time.

Running the Big South Fork of the Cumberland River, on a 3 day trip, handled gear and two inexperienced paddlers for the 30 mile trip down river. On the last day, one mile from the take out, we came upon Devil's Jump. Everyone was portaging around the falls, after packing most of the equipment to the lower end of the falls, I look and my partner and say "we can run this" and we did. Hit a major boil at the bottom lost balance and rolled over. Before we even got out of the water I told my partner we were dragging the boat back and doing it again. We did, and made through the second time without a problem at all. After bouncing off of rocks and down rapids, only very minor scratches on the bottom. Tough boat, not pretty in the classic style, but tough.

I love this boat, it will take you safely where you want to go.

I just bought my Old Town Guide 147 yesterday. The canoe…

Submitted by: on

I just bought my Old Town Guide 147 yesterday. The canoe I bought is about 10 years old (molded seats but not seat backs). Until today, my canoeing experience was 2 or 3 times out in mammoth canoes that felt like tanks. A friend (another novice) and I took a 4 mile trip down the Ocmulgee River today as a trial run.

When we first left the bank, we had some serious side to side wobble (which I expected from some of the comments here)...but after a few minutes we got that under control. The Guide was completely unlike anything I'd ever canoed before...fast, graceful and simple. I'm 6'3" 280 and my friend is 6'1" 260. I was worried about legroom up front, but it wasn't a problem at all. So there we were...2 novices (540lbs) plus the cooler (35lbs?), and we felt completely comfortable after the first few minutes of working out the wobble.

We covered our 4 miles in an hour and 15 minutes...MUCH quicker than we anticipated and hoped. We moved to another spot upriver and put in again, this time paddling upstream. The Guide handled it with ease! I couldn't be happier! Looking forward to many, many more canoe trips in my secondhand Guide.

I just purchased my new Guide 147 a few weeks ago, but…

Submitted by: on

I just purchased my new Guide 147 a few weeks ago, but so far I'm very impressed! I've read reviews where people have found it "tippy", but I don't find that to be the case at all. I grew up with canoes, and have never been without one so maybe experience is what they were lacking? I traded my Old Town Discover 133K in toward the Guide to get a more streamline canoe with more comfortable seats. The seats it comes with are amazingly comfortable! Initial stability is fine, secondary stability is very nice. This summer when it gets warmer I intend to take it out and try to tip it over. So far, I think you'd really need to try hard at it to dump it. With normal use and reasonable respect for a canoe, I doubt you'll ever get a soaking. Even without a keel, it glides true and tracks nicely. I find it takes very little effort to keep it going at a good clip, yet it's easy to correct and responsive when you need to steer it.

The only two issues I have with it, and these are minor, are:

  • Weight, it's a little heavy.
    Not bad, but it's no light weight. Most people load it from the yard to the car or truck so this isn't really a big issue. I've owned heavier canoes, so I don't mind it as I think it adds to the stability on the water but if you're looking for an ultralight canoe, you may want to look at something in Royalex or Kevlar.
  • Seats:
    Although very comfortable, this is a hard boat to solo. I lay flotation cushions in the middle and kneel to paddle by myself. The seat design, with the seat's back rests and over all "form fitted" aspect, you cant use the traditional method of using the front seat and paddling it backwards for solo use. If you think you might like to use it by yourself, you may not be able to unless you try the leaning method that I use. I'm currently looking for a way of mounting a middle seat that would allow me to keep the portage yoke intact.
So, in conclusion... I recommend this canoe to anyone looking for a great canoe that should last a lifetime plus with minor care. It's a good boat, that is very secure and comfortable for two person use. I certainly don't regret buying mine, and look forward to future fishing and camping trips out of it!

I bought my Guide 147 about a month ago and I have…

Submitted by: on

I bought my Guide 147 about a month ago and I have taken it out 3 times. The first time I took it out was my first time canoeing. Great for a beginner.I was able to go anywhere I wanted in this. It's very stable and it's built to last. The seats in it I find are nice. I have the back rests. I want to add a third seat in the middle. After reading other peoples reviews they say that you can stand in it and the water I was in was 42 degrees so I'll let you know some summer if that is true. My friend and I get it going what seems to me a good speed. I took my girlfriend out in it (not an outdoors person) and she had no problem with it and in fact she really enjoyed it. I have yet to take it on a river but that is coming soon. It is a bit on the heave side and that makes it a bit hard to load when your by yourself. I built a canoe carrier and that really helps out. I love this canoe I would tell anyone to get one.

I am VERY disappointed with the performance of my Guide 147.…

Submitted by: on

I am VERY disappointed with the performance of my Guide 147. It is very unstable and dangerous to do fast moving rivers in. The sides are to low and it swaps with water very easy. It is almost impossible to keep upright if any obstacle is struck from the side. A good point however is it seems to be indestructible. When paddling solo on a lake even siting in the middle on my knees the it is uncontrollable on windy days. I had Grumman canoe for 10 years and only dumped it once. I dump this one almost every time I go out.

Awesome canoe!! I have owned it for 6 years now and have…

Submitted by: on

Awesome canoe!! I have owned it for 6 years now and have been in every conceivable situation with it. 3 foot swells, down class 4.5 water. 14 day camping/fishing trip. Sat in it for over 8hrs many times. Do recommend getting some sort of padded canoe seat with adjustable back at dicks or old town if your going to be spending a lot of time in the seat. And dragged it to many new adventures. I have Old Town solo and a tour kayak so I have experience in all those boats. All and all its a great boat for recreation and some hard core stuff.

I've had my eye on the Guide 147 for about 3 years…

Submitted by: on

I've had my eye on the Guide 147 for about 3 years now and after losing my last canoe, I finally had the validation I needed to getting another canoe. Went to the sportsman's store and checked out everything they had in stock & still went to the 147. I'm a bit curious as to if they recently redesigned it a bit, as the one I picked up is not as flat-bottomed as previous ones that I look over every time I am in the store... but I digress.

Today I finally got to take her out on the water & run it through the gauntlet to see what it really performs like (so many good ratings - but so many minor complaints on reviews as well). I have to say I have no regrets whatsoever on my purchase. Very pleased!

Before I get too far into it, I primarily fish & do day trips when canoeing. I like stability, control, and durability. This canoe is definitely different than others that I have had the pleasure of using, but different in a good way.

Is it heavy? Yeah, it's certainly not featherweight but it's not terrible to portage. Is it slow? Personally I have no complaints whatsoever about the speed. It slid on the water like a breeze. The initial stability actual did catch me by surprise at first. I wouldn't say it felt tippy, but it rocked very easily for the first 15min that I was on the water. After that, I guess I had adjusted to it & didn't rock anymore. The secondary stability was great. Started pushing it to the gunnels on purpose & discovered that one would need to be really careless or trying to capsize on purpose to get wet.

Without the keel, and with an apparently more rounded profile, a modified J-stroke/Canadian stroke kept it in line just fine. It handled wonderfully. Loaded up my old man, my son, and myself for another go around the lake & went through about 6" of water to our amazement. Didn't even notice a difference heading into 10mph winds. This one's body is hard as a rock & didn't oilcan at all. Looks like I picked a good one.

If you are looking for a really high performance lightweight canoe for extended trips - this may not be your best choice. If you are looking for a well rounded, enjoyable, all-purpose canoe - you certainly cannot go wrong with the G147 (IMO).

My last canoe was 17'with a full-length keel & tracked straight as an arrow, but overall was just satisfactory. This one may not be as forgiving on poor stroking form, but overall outperformed my previous canoes. I would say that this canoe is probably the best starter one could get, as it not only may last forever, but would be like taking the training wheels off - to require you to feel the canoe, learn the mechanics, and also give you the security in knowing that you'd have to mess up pretty darned bad to end up in the drink.

I don't know what else I can say. For $519 bucks, it moved and handled like a grand. I didn't use the seatbacks as I tend to use larger muscle groups for get-up-and-go & the backs would get in the way. I'll put em back on during lazy fishing days. If anyone knows if the body design really was modified recently, or if I'm just losing my mind, an update would be appreciated.

We bought the canoe from Gander Mountain for about $430 in the…

Submitted by: on

We bought the canoe from Gander Mountain for about $430 in the spring of 2007 (having thoroughly read these reviews). I thought I'd put it through its paces before writing anything.

Transport was initially an issue because the canoe is a little too wide for our mini-van factory rack ('99 Mercury Villager). It was just wide enough to slide off the curved end of the rack which totally freaked out my wife a few times on the highway. I wasn't handling it all that well myself to be honest. We fixed this by removing the rack and just using the foam pads from a universal carrier kit and haven't had a problem since.

We have 3 small kids and initially my wife sat in the front and the kids sat in lawn chairs in a line. We never had any stability issues, even when all the kids leaned over to one side to look in the water. Since then I've picked up the plastic bench seat from Old Towne that you can pop on and off and they can all fit sitting on the bench.

It is a bit heavy (74 lbs) for my wife to handle so loading it is a bit of a hassle, she is rather petite for this sort of thing. (Incidentally, I'm looking for a canoe loader if anyone has any recommendations) I usually portage it alone if it's off the vehicle and that's not so bad using the factory yoke. I wouldn't want to go on a long portage without pads though, and mosquitoes seem to revel in the shade provided by the canoe.

When I go solo I've found that I can go through some very shallow water when I kneel down sit reversed on the bow seat. I also have all the control I need from that position. I have the formed plastic seats that aren't exactly comfortable when you sit on them backwards.

It is pretty tough to handle in the wind no matter how you sit or how many people you have in the canoe, but I think that's a problem with any canoe. Having grown up with a virtually indestructible Coleman with a keel this is quite a change, but I take it as a challenge to learn good technique and hopefully pass along a love for canoeing that my parents instilled in me. I've used it on modest sized lakes and relatively tame rivers so far and the only problem I've run into is dealing with the wind.

Overall I would recommend this to any family that wants to have affordable fun and have a durable canoe that can endure mistakes.

I bought my Old Town 147 for 399.00 at Dicks sporting goods…

Submitted by: on

I bought my Old Town 147 for 399.00 at Dicks sporting goods this September. Since then I've taken it out on three separate occasions with four separate people, some with good experience and my 11 year old brother who has never been in a canoe at all. I've yet to have a single problem. It floats, steers, handles great, and is extremely stable. I haven't done any fishing with it yet, but you can stand up with out any fear of tipping what so ever, we even had two people standing in it with out any worries. The only thing I have noticed is a bit of oil canning in the center, but it poses no problems at all.

The first place I had it out at was Lake Arthur at Morraine state park in PA. We had a great time and took it all over. Then in the Monongahela river in Greensboro PA, where we took it up river towards Point Marion and all the way up Dunkard creek there until we would have had to carry it across some rocks. I just got back from putting it in the Youghiogheny River at Ceder creek park near Rochester PA. It handled all the water great!

As for the weight I'm 5'7" and around 155 lbs and can carry it from the garage to the roof of my '91 Toyota Corolla have it strapped down and be ready to go in 5 minutes by myself, the carry yoke works great. Hauling it anywhere with two people just makes it all that much easier. Great boat, great price, great buy. 2 thumbs up!

I just took my Guide 147 out on it's maiden voyage today…

Submitted by: on

I just took my Guide 147 out on it's maiden voyage today. I loved it! It's very easy to control, and very quick in the water. I didn't notice much at all of the negatives that people have been saying.
Number 1: I found the rear seat to be very comfortable and roomy. I was worried that it might sit up too high, but that was not the case.
Number 2: the floor/bottom didn't move or buckle in the slightest, even when I decided to really push the canoe hard. I did notice that in a wind it was a bit difficult as the bow was high, but that's standard for paddling a tandem canoe solo. It is a bit heavy out of the water and some padding on the yoke/thwart is in order for sure.

I anticipate a lot of good trips in this craft. Granted this review is based on about 3 hours of paddling on reasonably still water on Ebenezer Creek in Georgia. When checking it out on dry land my wife did think she was going to feel cramped in the bow. She's only 5'3" so that is significant. She's also very novice when it comes to paddling and again, this isn't a limitation of the craft, but of the size. I drive an '03 Corolla, so a bigger canoe just isn't a practical option. That being said it's a great fit on a Yakima rack system.

All in all this is a GREAT value in a canoe. I got mine for $469 at Bass Pro shop. I did have to refuse two of the same models for some factory defects so be careful when picking one out. Even though this is a killer deal for a quality canoe it's obvious after my experience that Old Town's quality control might be slipping a bit. The defects were strictly cosmetic though.

This is an update to a previous review. I took the Old Town…

Submitted by: on

This is an update to a previous review.
I took the Old Town Guide 147 on a camping and fishing trip with my youngest daughter (11 yrs old, 85lbs) this past weekend. I did most of the paddling myself simply because when she paddled she would steer us off course a lot, but she was getting better by the end of the second day out.

Weather conditions were slightly windy probably about 10 mph which made the lakes a little choppy, paddling into the wind seemed easier then paddling with the wind, might have been because by the time we decided to call it quits we had been on the lake for about 3 hours. All in all it handled terrific on choppy water and in the wind.

I took it out by myself for a short paddle around the lake. I noticed that the bow was out of the water about 6 inches. Made the canoe real easy to turn but hard to control in the wind and had a lot of lost of stability. If I moved to the center of the canoe to paddle the stability was regained and was easier to handle in a straight line. But it was a little difficult to paddle due to the width and very difficult to turn from this position.

I will try it again by myself with a 48qt cooler filled with water sitting just behind the front seat. This should provide enough weight up front to counter balance my 200 lbs.

I would give this canoe an overall 10 except for the few issues I have had as a beginner paddler. My muscles are telling me I need to hit the gym more after this weekend.

Been researching and wanting a canoe for over 10 years. The…

Submitted by: on

Been researching and wanting a canoe for over 10 years. The Old Town Guide 147, Mad River Explorer 14TT and the Wenonah Prospector 15 have been the models I have had my eyes on. I finally bought the Old Town Guide 147 yesterday and took it on its maiden voyage today at Fort Phantom Lake just outside of Abilene, Texas.

Primary reason I bought the Old Town was I found it at Academy Sports for 449.00. This was the cheapest I have ever seen this canoe.

I expected my maiden voyage to be solo but I bumped into a friend at the lake and asked him if he wanted to join me. Glad I did so I could give it a better review with two adult men weighing about 200 pounds each. My friend complained about the leg room up front and also the motion that he felt every time I would cast my fly rod. I did not notice any severe motion from the back seat and had plenty of leg room. I did swap seats with him for a short paddle and I noticed that the leg room was cramped and any slight motion in the boat was severely felt making me feel unstable.

I am not an expert paddler, this being the third time out in a canoe, but I did find that the Old Town was very easy to paddle in a straight path and with two adults paddling we were able to get up some fairly decent speed.

Turning the canoe was very simple at higher speeds but at slow speeds or just drifting along it was rather difficult to change the direction of the boat.

Thoroughly enjoyed the maiden voyage, caught some good size Large Mouth Bass and most important of all, I did not capsize the first time out.

Purchased the Guide 147 in April 2008 from Canadian Tire for $300…

Submitted by: on

Purchased the Guide 147 in April 2008 from Canadian Tire for $300 new. Were originally looking at a new Clipper Ranger. We decided on the 147 as we were still unsure if we would like canoeing enough to warrant the expensive Clipper. We also do 100% flat water day tripping and puttering around. 80% of the outings will involve fishing. For those purposes the Guide 147 has exceeded its purpose. Lots of walleye pulled into that boat. Just remember this ain't a bass tournament boat so don't stand up suddenly when catching a big fish. Very stable once the wife and myself actually learned to paddle more properly.

Playing around I had to literally jump off the side gunnel to flip the thing. Handled wakeboard boats easily without any significant wobbles. With two, the wind was not any major factor. And not near as heavy as I expected from the reviews here once I practiced proper ways to lift the boat. Just hurts my wimpy neck a bit so padding is on the way for the yoke.

For myself, the wife and a 2 year old along with basic fishing and safety gear, the boat is perfect. For any tripping it is too small for more than 2 adults. I can definitely see myself taking a child out on the occasional Sunday fish.

Cons: I need to modify the seats a bit. Not near enough leg room for the wife up front. Trooper as she is isn't complaining, but I see her cramped up there. Need to move front seat back a few inches.
I need to find a way to stop sliding off the rear seat when really paddling. Possibly shim it to lean back a bit, something more grippy maybe. I also would like to add some kind of DIY footbrace/kneeling. Solo works fine but had to remove the back rest from the front seat and sit backwards with lots of ballast in the wind. A kneeling system near the middle would be the cats meow.

With child #2 on the way, in a few years we will definitely be looking at the Clipper Ranger again for the larger size.

In all the perfect boat for our purpose of floating around and fishing on flat water. What an excellent way to get into canoeing.

Purchased this boat through Dick's Sporting Goods for $60 (a good sale…

Submitted by: on

Purchased this boat through Dick's Sporting Goods for $60 (a good sale and Visa perks). For the price it is a fine canoe.
I've spent adequate time in borrowed Wenonah Itasca's and Sundowners throughout Canada, Michigan and Ohio, but could only afford an Old Town Penobscot 17 (royalex) and a Mad River Explorer 16 (royalex). So the Guide 147 is a replacement beater for my stolen Mohawk Blazer 16. Like I said, for the price point you get a solid dependable canoe. It paddles easily and is extremely stable. The seats are a tad uncomfortable compared to cane seats, but are care free and durable. The canoe bottom is a bit too pliable and moves constantly up and down under your feet. Not that it is an issue, I'm just not use to that from higher end canoes. Stability is superb. This is a canoe I leave in Florida, so unfortunately it sits outside under the palms. It handles estuaries and slow moving rivers excellently. I also use this canoe as out family fishing vessel, loaded down with a Minn Kota Saltwater trolling motor and a couple teenage kids. It does get disconcerting when larger boats pass by creating substantial wakes, but we always stayed upright.

If you spend a lot of time portaging, or paddling with those in sleeker boats, you will desire to graduate to something higher end. I gave it an eight rating only because of my comparison with higher end boats that I've used and owned. For the dollar value I would not hesitate to recommend it.

I've had this boat for over a year now, and I have…

Submitted by: on

I've had this boat for over a year now, and I have to say it is a great canoe. Mrs. Mantis and I have taken this thing down class II rapids, hit very large boulders and managed to stay afloat. We've done shallow, 6" slow rivers with no problem. We go out on lakes a couple times a week, and it always treats us well. Just yesterday, we were going through I'd say 1 1/2' waves with white caps, and we didn't even have to go to the floor.

Our canoe has molded seats, and no backs. It's a 2004. It's very stable and solid in the water. We took it on a 4 day camping trip through the St. Regis area in NY. It handled all of our gear with no problem. I even had my banjo in there. The only reason I gave the boat a 9 is because it is very heavy at 74 pounds. It was very hard to hike that sucker through the mountains and swamps in that wilderness. I made a rig out of an old hiking pack to help carry and it broke in half 2/3 of the way through the trip. It's no problem for short easy portaging though.

We love this boat, it does everything we want, and was cheap, only $400. I would recommend it.

I've had my Guide out for 3 lake trips now and am…

Submitted by: on

I've had my Guide out for 3 lake trips now and am very satisfied with it! Being a novice canoer, I did a lot of research, viewed product reviews and educated myself on factors to consider when buying a canoe, and chose this one. I'm 245lbs + trolling motor & some gear in the back,with my wife @ 140lbs + the 50 lb battery behind the front seat and the canoe handled very choppy wakes from speedboats. At one time we were actually quite scared, but the canoe still didn't flip. I figure we just about tested it to it's max. Overall I would recommend the canoe to anyone. Mine also had the seatbacks attached. Great value for the money. We got ours for $499 @ Canadian Tire.

This is the first canoe I've been in, much less owned.…

Submitted by: on

This is the first canoe I've been in, much less owned. Like most, I looked through these reviews quite a bit and then made my purchase. I'm very happy with my choice. I've taken it out twice now. First time was a 4 hour trip down a slow river, and the second time was fishing in the sound where it handled boat chop pretty well (from the front and side). The only reason for the mark down is for the seat. I didn't get complaints about the front seat, but the back seat put some soreness in the backside after a couple of hours (not too bad though). Other than that, it's great. You do feel the low initial stability, but you get the confidence in its final stability and it's not a problem. Definitely recommend it.

Just bought this canoe at Dick's Sporting Goods for $399 and I…

Submitted by: on

Just bought this canoe at Dick's Sporting Goods for $399 and I am excited to get it out on the water! I went to buy an Old Town Discovery but then when I found the Guide 147 I thought it was perfect. I plan to use it on lakes and maybe venture out onto some rivers as well. I am totally new to canoeing and will give an update after our maiden voyage.

I bought this canoe on sale for less than many used ones…

Submitted by: on

I bought this canoe on sale for less than many used ones in my area, Victoria, BC. I liked the width to provide some more capacity & stability. I took my kids out on one our local lakes yesterday. It tracked very nicely and felt very stable. I too, felt like my arse was ready to slide out of the seat....not sure if I can blame the seat for that one! Its a bit of a grunt to get up onto my 4x4's roof rack by myself, but that will come with practice. I need to replace the center thwart with a 3rd seat. Overall, I'm very pleased and my kids loved it.

Took this sucker out on its maiden voyage down the Russian River…

Submitted by: on

Took this sucker out on its maiden voyage down the Russian River. Though this is not a super fancy canoe, it is a stable hassle free and enjoyable ride. There is a little oil caning towards the middle but I compensated by drinking more beer. ha ha figure that out.

PROS: Price, Quality, Secondary Stability, Tracking, Durability CONS: Seats, Leg Room (BOW) I…

Submitted by: on

PROS: Price, Quality, Secondary Stability, Tracking, Durability
CONS: Seats, Leg Room (BOW)

I am new to the canoing world and was lured to this canoe based on reviews I read on this site and others. The price was also a determining factor and one of the reasons I didn't list weight as a con (you get what you pay for). Being a beginner, I expected to go through a learning curve, but the canoe tracked and paddled very well from the beginning. The biggest problem I have seen is the comfort of the seats. With the seat back installed, I can't sit back far enough on the stern seat to be comfortable and I constantly feel as though I'm going to slide out of the seat.

Overall I am very pleased with the purchase and given the same cost constraints, would make the same choice.

This is a great little Canoe to have at 15ft is small…

Submitted by: on

This is a great little Canoe to have at 15ft is small enough to get in and out of my Tiny apartment. Although it is a little tough to paddle solo in the wind, otherwise it is fairly easy to paddle and tracks well with added weight up when solo. I use a 5 gal. water jug to add weight to the Bow of the Canoe, which works great.

This is a great all around canoe, but the one down side…

Submitted by: on

This is a great all around canoe, but the one down side when going solo is it cannot handle much wind. I've had this canoe for about 2 years and I love the shallow draft and flexing hull because I mostly take it through marshes. I find myself not even using the seat but instead sitting on the back when paddling.
Also, anyone who says this thing is heavy, with two people its a joke I even use the yoke sometimes. I really recommend buying this one.

Took my new Old Town Guide out this weekend for the first…

Submitted by: on

Took my new Old Town Guide out this weekend for the first time. Did 7 miles down the upper Allegheny River in Warren and Forest Counties, PA. Canoe did well and was very very stable. I had my wife (who has gone canoeing 2x in her life) and our beagle who is 2 years old and very busy. Many times that boat was rocking and I though, "man we should have tipped that time" but we never did. I love this canoe. Very good boat for the money.

We bought this canoe 2 years ago to keep at our cabin…

Submitted by: on

We bought this canoe 2 years ago to keep at our cabin in N. Minnesota and for fishing local rivers. It's proven to be a great boat for fishing, although I wish the initial stability was a little better.

We have added sling pads (about $35) for portaging, this makes the canoe feel much lighter than it really is. My 15 year old daughter has no problems portaging the canoe.

For fishing this has proven to be a wonderful boat. The kids like to play with it in the lake because it doesn't tip over, but it still feels tippy.

I've read some reviews where oil canning is a concern and yes it does oil can a little; which is fine by me when dealing with shallow, rock filled rivers. If your looking for a family canoe or a two person sportsmans canoe, I'd say this was good choice.

This is my fourth canoe. I can't part with my 35 year old, 15' Grumman SS. However, the Coleman and Discovery Sport 17 however are no longer around. Not because they were bad boats, but this one fills my needs.

I bought this canoe on sale in the spring. I was looking…

Submitted by: on

I bought this canoe on sale in the spring. I was looking for a stable, tough canoe to use paddling and hunting with my son. I have been very happy with it so far. It seems heavier than 70 pounds, but once you get the feel for it, car-topping with it is doable. As mentioned, it can be tough to control in a high crosswind.

I've owned the Oldtown 147 for a little over a year now…

Submitted by: on

I've owned the Oldtown 147 for a little over a year now and have used it in a number of ways. I will say firstly, the drawback is definitly the weight. At 72 pounds, it's quite a handfull by yourself. Getting it on the car is hard, but not all that bad; it's the getting it out of the water where gravity really exerts itself.

Tacking is slow, but if you plan ahead, especially on rather fast moving rivers, you will minimize any short-comings. Also, as mentioned in earlier postings; in a strong crosswind it can be a bear to keep straight.

Now, having said all that, I've loaded this canoe like a camper, paddled through Class I - III, hit rocks, scraped along the bottom of the river, paddled across large lakes and I am very well pleased with the over-all ability of this canoe.

Do youself a favor and really ask why you're the market for a canoe; it's purpose, and your ability, nature and frequency of use. I feel, if overnighting it on a river, lake, or just enjoying it for a fishing trip; you can't go wrong. Soon enough, you and it will become good friends knowing how to respond to the ever changing water. It's time to begin the relationship.

Great little canoe! Very stable on entry and exit. Paddles very nicely...smooth…

Submitted by: on

Great little canoe! Very stable on entry and exit. Paddles very nicely...smooth and quiet. It would be hard to go wrong with this boat, especially for someone looking for a first canoe.

I love this canoe. Its tough, stable, and paddles well.…

Submitted by: on

I love this canoe. Its tough, stable, and paddles well. Its a great recreational canoe. The soft flexible hull is perfect for the type of paddling we do, along lakes and slow rivers with rocky shores. Its large weight capacity for the length is great. It carried two large people with gear for 3 days in Okefenokee with no problem. Its short enough to manuever in tight spots but tracks well. I installed a webbed seat from Old Town in place of the middle thwart for solo paddling. The folks at Old Town were very helpful in selecting the right hardware.

Its not a speed demon, but I am not in a hurry and not concerned about covering alot of miles in a day. And its fast enough. We average 2.5-3 mph. The hull flexes a little but that comes in handy in shallow water with obstructions. The soft hull is great in the summer, feels fine on bare feet. In the winter, the insulation feature is nice. I have had the Guide 147 for two years and am looking forward to using it for many more years.

My wife and I have always loved to canoe, we would spend…

Submitted by: on

My wife and I have always loved to canoe, we would spend outrageous prices to rent canoes for trips that were ALWAYS misrepresented by the liveries. (Pay for the 6 hour trip, and return to the livery in less than 3 hours) So we received our Guide 147 as a wedding present. Each time we take it out, I am impressed more and more by its versatility. Our last trip we took it down 55 miles of rather shallow river, with 3 people in it, along with all of our gear (Tent, food, water, sleeping bags, cookware, etc) and it handled like a trooper! It is sturdy, well made, tough as nails, and very forgiving. I HIGHLY recommend this canoe to anyone looking to purchase a canoe. You can't go wrong!

I just purchased a Guide 147, two Old Town paddles and life…

Submitted by: on

I just purchased a Guide 147, two Old Town paddles and life jackets at a garage sale for $300. It is sitting on my roof rack and will try it out this Sunday. If it performs as well as most of the reviews here I will be very pleased with my purchase.

A couple of years ago I purchased a Bell Merlin II after I sold my motorcycle and had a few extra dollars left over. A member of the local canoe club recommended this boat for a solo paddler as it was the one he used. This was my first canoe and not one of my better decisions. Don't get me wrong it is a fantastic canoe at 36 pounds but it isn't the boat I need for what I want to do, which is mostly fish. So, if this Guide lives up to the reviews posted here, the Bell Merlin II is going up for sale. I'll add some more comments after I try the boat this weekend.

UPDATE 7/11/05 - Took the canoe out yesterday and it lived up to the all the reviews posted here. The canoe was wonderful to paddle with two people, very stable, and responded nicely to paddle. For solo paddling I did sit in the front seat backwards as suggested and in a cross wind it was a challenge. I had to kneel forward, scoot to one side and dig in to keep it on track and pry the J stroke off the gunwales, which if I had some gear lashed down in the front it might have been easier to control. At 74 pounds it wasn't unmanageable by myself, but it isn't Kevlar either. Minor point, I did find the black gunwale to get hot to handle in the bright sunshine and the rivets as well.

Overall, this boat gets an A+ from me. If you are looking for an all around canoe I don't think you'd be disappointed with the 147 Guide for the price. I should have tried this boat out before I purchased the Bell, I would have saved a bunch of money. Now all I need to do is find a buyer for my Bell Merlin II.

I bought this canoe in Feb of 2005. To say that…

Submitted by: on

I bought this canoe in Feb of 2005. To say that I am pleased with it would be an understatement. I have been using it mainly on the Potomac River. It’s great for camping, fishing, cruising, paddling up and down river (even in strong currents). It will travel in shallow water, stable in rapids. Just a great boat all in all...

At 74 lbs, it's a bit heavy, but not a problem if…

Submitted by: on

At 74 lbs, it's a bit heavy, but not a problem if you have 2 people. I paid $429 for mine and that's a bargain for the freedom it brings. Stability is not a problem, the extra room is a huge bonus. I plan to add 2 drop in seats and there will still be plenty of space for all, and the 900 lb wt limit is more than adequate. For the price and quality, I don't regret buying this canoe one bit! Excellent for beginners and experienced paddlers alike, this is a terrific all around recreational canoe.

I just bought this at a local shop for $520, I have…

Submitted by: on

I just bought this at a local shop for $520, I have taken it out a few times on a small pond with my wife at the front and 2 small kids in beach chairs in the middle. It seems to handle very good with minimal (if any) oil canning.

I also took it out on a 3 day river trip fully loaded with gear for 2+ people. Took it down a small section of class 1-2 rapids and it did great. My only complaint would be that it seemed a little slow as we had trouble keeping up with the rest of the group. This could have been operator error. All in all a great canoe. It seems to take a beating very gracefully.

This is an excellent canoe, unless you are a complete wimp. The…

Submitted by: on

This is an excellent canoe, unless you are a complete wimp. The weight is 20 lbs higher than much more expensive models, but the cost savings and stiffness are well worth it. I am 6'3" 290 lbs. and this thing is great for me. The "oil canning” is very, very minimal. I have read reviews that say this thing is slow, and it may be with small paddlers, but I blow away people in kayaks all day long. I use an 8' double bladed paddle from Bending Branches, and the boat nearly planes for gods sake! Stability is great from the seat and incredible when I sit in the center floor. I can heel the boat to its gunwale with no problem of tipping. Bottom line is this is an excellent solo boat for larger paddlers and for those with heavy loads. 800 lbs total has been no problem at all in heavy chop. And I came from a Pelican 16 Bayou that was a real tank. This canoe will do all that the Pelican will do at nearly half the weight. Also the poly link 3 hull is as close to indestructible as you can get. It is much better than any rotomolded boat that I have had in the past. No more of those deep gouges from just dragging over some rocks. Great Stable boat.

A very good buy. $525 from REI on sale. I didn't find…

Submitted by: on

A very good buy. $525 from REI on sale. I didn't find any oilcanning (as yet, 4-5 trips in the water), and it fits my family of five (2 adults in seats and 3 kids under 6 just sitting in the bottom) just fine. Did not find this boat to be tipsy at all, and fairly easy to maneuver. Compared to many other canoes I've been in, this was a pleasure. Downsides are 1) reduced legroom in bow, but that is really not a problem unless the person was fairly large; 2) it is a little heavy to cartop or portage, but hey, did you look at the price? I shopped around and looked at less expensive boats, but this was far superior. I can't see how you would be unhappy if this was your first canoe.....

I've had this boat for 2 years and it's just right for…

Submitted by: on

I've had this boat for 2 years and it's just right for my interest and skill level. I purchased the boat, two paddles, two PFDs, and a set of foam blocks/straps for cartopping from Dick's for about $500. It's a good value.

On the plus side - good stability, handles well, it's very tough and durable, quality is excellent. Capacity is very good, I've taken 2 people of 220+ lbs with me on river trips comfortably - combined weight of probably 650 lbs, although we were riding a little low in the water.

On the minus side - It's heavy and hard to get on top of my Explorer by myself. I built a dolly and bought a Fulton canoe loader from Bass Pro Shops and now moving and loading by myself is no problem. The other negative is that the front seat should be moved back a bit. It's very cramped with little leg room in the front. Also a middle seat would be nice, but when we take our 6 year old daughter along we set a low beach chair in the middle for her. It works great.

All in all, this is an excellent boat for the money. Much better than the aluminum canoes I grew up with.

I love this boat!! This is my second canoe and I am…

Submitted by: on

I love this boat!! This is my second canoe and I am in true love with it. First, the cons; it really is heavy. I'm about 180lbs and it still can surprise me if the weight shifts while roof rack mounting it. I have a Pathfinder and it can be quite a pain to mount it the roof when solo, but once you figure out a system for doing this, it's not so bad. Also on a windy day the boat acts as a sail to a crosswind.

Almost impossible to track straight with a serious crosswind. Tracks quite well on calm days. She ain't fast, but that's not the purpose of this canoe. Other than that, this boat is perfect. I have gone down rivers (the fastest was the Chattahoochie in ATL) and I have been on several lakes for camping trips in it. Works perfectly for both.

It's a tank. Seriously. I personally paddle mine like I hate it and she just won't die. I've hit trees, rocks, other boats, rocks and some rocks and never has it even begun to show any signs of stress. I have had 3 full large 48qt coolers in it on a lake trip (I was acting as a ferry for our gear on a recent camping trip) with another person in the bow and the water line was still well below the gunwales. Still very stable also, and that's with about 550lbs in it!! I'm impressed!

I fish from it, and yes, I stand to cast. No issues on tipping. In fact, if you do tip this boat, you may want to consider a new hobby. But, due to this increased stability, it handles like the tank it is. Remember how I said I hit so many rocks? That's not because I'm a bad paddler, I just couldn't get out of the way! But who cares? You can't kill this thing. Go on, hit the rocks, it won't mind a bit.

So for anyone who is getting into canoeing for the first time and wants a boat that will allow you a very lenient learning curve, or for someone who needs stability for carrying gear of fishing, this is a great canoe for you. I would also recommend it to those who want a canoe for families since it's plenty stable for smaller children. Thank you Old Town!!

I have owned my OT guide 147 for 1 yr. Have…

Submitted by: on

I have owned my OT guide 147 for 1 yr. Have used it ~ 10 times to fish small lakes in western KY. This canoe is a real tank. It's indestructible. I have found that it’s a good canoe for multipurpose fishing, camping, etc. I bought mine used so the price was right. I have tried to fish from this canoe solo with little success. Difficult to steer. The top floats up. I purchased a Loon 138 kayak to fish solo and am completely satisfied. Be sure if you purchase this canoe you plan on going with someone else. Especially if your going to load it on top of an SUV. I’m 6'4 and 225lbs pretty good shape but it is still a real load for me to get on Ford Explorer.

My very first canoe was a 2001 Old Town Guide 147.…

Submitted by: on

My very first canoe was a 2001 Old Town Guide 147. I strongly recommend this canoe for beginners. It is a good first step up from aluminum rentals. It is extremely stable, and you can *really* beat this boat up and it can take everything the river can dish out!

You can't beat the price on it and you get a lot of value for the money. It was a good boat for both day trips and overnight camping. For a boat under 15' it's pretty roomy.

I had to sell mine due to lack of paddling partners. It was the only way I could get money to buy a solo boat. Otherwise I'd have kept it around for the occasional instances when a friend wanted to go out on the water for a few hours. I tried to solo the Guide but had a lot of trouble as there was too much canoe and not enough me. A larger paddler would probably have better luck.

Minuses to this canoe: 74 pounds could be a lot to handle for some people. Also, yes, it does oilcan. But for the conditions and skill level this boat is suited for, oilcanning isn't that big of a deal IMHO.

But the boat is tough, looks nice, is very stable, and would be a good choice for beginners and/or families with young kids.

I've owned the Old Town Guide for a few weeks now and…

Submitted by: on

I've owned the Old Town Guide for a few weeks now and have been very impressed with it. It has been a versatile, rugged boat. It has great stability and is even able to be used as a solo boat (although I wouldn't recommend that). My only complaint would be its weight.

If you are a large adult and plan to paddle with another…

Submitted by: on

If you are a large adult and plan to paddle with another large adult expect major "Oil Canning". I'm talking about a 40" long by 2" high bulge the width of the canoe. I brought this to the attention of Old Town customer service and they said that it is normal and the selling dealer should have brought it to my attention. He did not, so I am bringing it to yours.

Although the canoe looks like it is going to bend in half, customer service assured me that it would not. With a listed capacity of 900 lbs, I did not expect this with less than 1/2 the listed capacity on board. Old Town told me that it does not affect the performance of the canoe. The good part is that everything in the middle of the canoe stays dry as the water all runs to the front and back of the boat.

I'm new to canoeing, and this is my first canoe. I…

Submitted by: on

I'm new to canoeing, and this is my first canoe. I tried out an OT Kineo at a rental, and then bought the guide. Overall, I really enjoyed this canoe. The initial stability is a little wobbly, but my wife or I didn't mind it at all. You get used to it after a few minutes, and we never felt unsafe. It is easier to steer than th kineo, and I believe it even tracks better than the kineo. It is heavy, but with a little practice my petite wife and i are able to load it on top of our trooper. Im very pleased with this canoe, and I'm glad that I didn't settle for a Pelican. This boat is a great boat for a first timer. I also, paddled solo for a mile or so, while my wife was recovering. I found this boat to be easily controllable for a solo. I would prefer a kayak paddle for a solo job though.

I am very satisfied with the Guide's low price and performance, I…

Submitted by: on

I am very satisfied with the Guide's low price and performance, I got my guide for my 8th grade graduation and I could not think of a better choise, it is a great entry level canoe, and it is fast on lakes, I easily give it a 10.

I have owned my Guide for almost 4 years, and I have…

Submitted by: on

I have owned my Guide for almost 4 years, and I have never regretted buying it. I primarily use it as a fishing platform on flat water and medium streams, and I can't imagine a more stable canoe. I have fished with kids, the wife, big fat guys, new paddlers, etc. and I have never tipped this boat. The PolyLink hull is unbelievably tough and this thing handles great. The only reason I give it a 9 is the weight. I'm not one of those burly dudes whose reviews talk about how easy it is to hoist this boat. I'm an old guy with a bad shoulder so it's a struggle getting the Guide on top of my 4Runner, but it's worth it. Highly recommended for fishing and general recreation.

I just had my first outing with my new Guide this past…

Submitted by: on

I just had my first outing with my new Guide this past weekend. I give it a 10 because it functioned exactly they way i expected. It only weighs 74 lbs and it's only $400, you can't go wrong. I floated and fished from it two days. Once with another person, combined weight 500 lbs, and solo the next. The performance was flawless. It's a great canoe. My only suggestion is that if you go solo. Invest in a kayak paddle and sit in the front seat backwards.

I've had the guide for bit &b had it out several times…

Submitted by: on

I've had the guide for bit &b had it out several times & I wish to add to my previous review. I use this boat on stripper pits of several hundred acres & the wind is fierce, daily afternoon whitecaps. Solo, the canoe was useless, even sitting backwards on the front seat. I added 80# of sand ballast & now its a peach. When I use a 30# thrust electric motor, I place the battery forward (added 7' to cables) and reduce the ballast to 40#. This thing will fly. Don't however, go from full forward to full reverse. That might be a little more torque than you want. Stability is great. I have no qualms taking a grandchild. As stated, I am a Grandfather. Just what the heck is the problem with loading 74 lbs? Only problem that I have is when someone insists on helping. That's clumsy. Great boat! I love it.

I have paddled the 14.7 guide for 4 years,The polylink3 material is…

Submitted by: on

I have paddled the 14.7 guide for 4 years,The polylink3 material is very durable. It has mainly been used for fishing in salt water, but has been in class 2 rapids and handled them with no problems. As well as very choppy and windy conditions. Buy one now.

I bought the Guide for all around use, save crazy whitewater.…

Submitted by: on

I bought the Guide for all around use, save crazy whitewater. I paddled it today for the first time, typical to the reviews, holy unstable! Secondary stability, I bet you can't tip it by accIdent. I have been paddling for 20 years and the ONLY downside is weight. Either come up with $400 more for a comparable boat in Royalex, or get in shape. 74 lbs. won't kill you if you balance it right. I am 6', but not buff, and I can get it on a Durango no problem, and cary it forever with a yoke. I love it!

I weigh 250, so getting the guide on my cherokee is no…

Submitted by: on

I weigh 250, so getting the guide on my cherokee is no prob. I like this boat,mostly. However, even sitting backwards. I raise the front too much for windy conditions.I plan to try ballasting the front. Stability is terrific.

Have had my Guide for two years. Use it mostly as a…

Submitted by: on

Have had my Guide for two years. Use it mostly as a solo canoe, I'm a big guy, 6'2" 360, I have had no trouble with oil canning, and have been very pleasantly surprised at it's speed and handling. The hull material is very tough, and has held up well through some very tough use (We paddle a lot of small quick streams and creeks that in some cases haven't been paddled since before WWII, lots of dragging over fallen trees, over gravel bars, paddling over small dams,etc.)

My only complaint is that the seats are too high, and it tends to be tippy on small technical streams and in rapids. I have remedied this by lowering the seats about four inches, six inches on the seat I use for solo paddling. If paddling solo from near center of canoe, I strongly recomend using 9' double bladed canoe paddle (available from Mohawk). With forty inch width at gunnels, using single paddle from center is a bit difficult.

This is a very versatile canoe, and for the price, it would be extremely difficult to beat.